We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back-breaking beds ruined it for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley
Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Back-breaking beds ruined it for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the last two nights in room 14 and loved the old building and the personal service. Having said this, despite the cost of the stay, this was more in line with B&B style accommodation. The room could have been cleaner and looked in need of a bit of TLC (broken bin in the bathroom, numerous dead flies, curtains that didn't close etc). The bed is categorically the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. I have never suffered from a bad back but it was so bad last night that I have been awake since 4am. My only guess is that in attempt to retain the authentic convent feel, they have used last century's mattresses, seemingly stuffed with horse hair and various large rocks. All joking aside, it is a real shame that we had such an uncomfortable stay. I wish I had read the reviews before I booked, hence me taking the time to write one. Please, please, please fix the bed issue. I am actually so glad to be back at home! On a positive note, Robert's restaurant was wonderful and again that service was warm and friendly. I will come back, but probably with an inflatable mattress in tow...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
83
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Convent for 2 nights after our wedding. It was a lovely hotel with a very calming interior. It's located in a peaceful and quiet position. It was a clean and tidy hotel, and we had good service. We only had the buffet breakfast, but it was great!! We thought the hotel was great value for money, and we also had a really nice room at the right-hand end of hotel which had a large shared balcony. Really looking forward to staying here again. (We stayed in November 2011)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the right-hand, front end of hotel. It was spacious and peaceful, and had a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just stayed overnight at the convent the place looks stunning as you approach but sadly thats where it stops.
The whole buildings looks a bit tired and in need of a overhaul to bring it up to the standard in which you are being charged for a stay.
All the little details seem to be over looked which is what makes the whole experience of spending time in such supposed sensational accommodation worth while.
The one saving grace was the meal we had at Roberts Restaurant at the entrance to the convent
its was a true dining experience and I look forward to returning to have those tempura zucchini flowers again.
Breakfast was nothing but a true disappointment it the food tasted reheated and the bacon could only be described as tragic.
Peppers really need to lift there standards

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013


My wife and I had a two night stay here and loved it. We paid extra for a My wife and I had a two night stay here a
nd loved it. We paid extra for a superior room and it was worth every Cent. Our package also included a 3 course meal at Roberts restaurant which is within easy walking distance. That was spectacular in its own right. The nightly complimentary drink and canapés (also part of our upgrade) was a lovely touch. Great place and a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Convent for two nights as part of a large party and as we took up every room, the concern for privacy that others have voiced here on TA were minimal. A short walk from Roberts Restaurant, this bed and breakfast was a perfect getaway for the whole group. It was like visiting someone's home (or mansion), as if we were hanging out in someone's living room, porch, and backyard. Breakfast took place in the sunny dining room behind the parlor with a good buffet selection of scrambled and poached eggs, toast, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, cheese, coffee, milk, and tea. The staff members were friendly, and all in all, we had a great experience.

Mind you, however, we wanted a bed and breakfast. If you're looking for a modern hotel with all the modern amenities, this would not be your number one choice. For a bed and breakfast, their amenities weren't bad: They have an electric water boiler, mugs for tea, tea, wine glasses, and a small fridge for your use every room. They also offer a small mini bar with candy bars, chips, and a half bottle of wine (which, if you have kids, you may want to hide). The bathroom came with the usual soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion along with a small sewing kit, shower cap, vanity pack, and a hair dryer. And, of course, the wine and canapes. However -- wifi is weak; very weak. You have to go near the conference room to connect (which is odd since their wifi signal is strong throughout the house, but no one could connect - they should get a tech person to look at that or at least reset the router); Phone signals were weak; Reception was only open during the daylight hours (don't lose your key!!); and there's nothing around... no vending machines, no room service, etc. if you get hungry at a random hour.

The rooms aren't as large as those in the Crowne, but they are manageable. Some rooms are bigger than others, but all have a quaint little feel with nice bathtubs. Their dressers are a bit annoying, but then that's how they were back in the day, so who's to complain. If you want quiet and charming or if you have a relatively large party that just wants to mill around comfortably, do give this place a go.

Room Tip: In general, the second floor rooms were nicer with more natural light. Note that three rooms share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoon bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay here this time we brought the family! Love the rooms and the grounds. Staff very pleasant. Good value. Very quiet and peaceful. Nice breakfast and happy hour.Roberts restaurant and pepper tree wines on the property a bonus

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Peppers Convent as a surprise for my birthday this year.

When we arrived, the place looked very inviting.

We were quickly checked in by the friendly girl at reception, and headed to our room (overlooking the front garden) for a while before venturing downstairs for the wine and canapé we were offered earlier, and then later out to dinner.

Peppers Convent, built in 1909, was formerly home to the Brigidine Order of Nuns at Coonamble, NSW. The building was transported 600km from Coonamble to Pokolbin.

It now makes for a very nice hotel in very secluded and serene surroundings, right off Broke Road, the main road running through Pokolbin.

From the main road, one would have no idea that this hotel is even there; and from the hotel, one would have no idea that it's on the main road.

Our stay was short, but very pleasant, and in very peaceful surroundings.

As a photographer, the architecture appealed to me, so I spent some time photographing the exterior at twilight and in darkness, as well as the beautiful interior with its rustic piano.

The place was very quiet, and a perfect weekend getaway location. We'd be happy to stay at Peppers Convent again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley

Address: Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst beautiful gardens and vineyards in Australia's world famous Hunter Valley Wine Country just two hours drive from Sydney, Peppers Convent Hunter Valley offers luxury hotel accommodation and the ideal getaway for those wishing to truly indulge themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Peppers Convent Hunter Valley Pokolbin
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.