We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't need to play golf to enjoy Cypress Lakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“You don't need to play golf to enjoy Cypress Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

This is a popular location for business meetings and we were no different, but I intend to return for pleasure.

Our 3 bedroom villa was gorgeous, with a wonderful fireplace and amazing views over the vineyards. Despite being mostly wood the rooms were extremely soundproofed so well suited to people sharing the villa. Bathrooms are large and rooms have comfy fluffy robes.

Numerous small shuttle buses are available at a few minutes notice to transport guests to their villas, but it is also lovely to walk around the spacious grounds (but beware of random golf balls). A few friends tried the Spa and loved it while we sat on the villa balconies and enjoyed the view.

Breakfasts are wonderful but the buffet meals are a bit boring. Did not try the classy restaurant this time, but will make the effort next time. Don't pay the inflated prices for wine in the room - head off to a cellar door and buy some local produce!

  • Liked — Spacious lovely villas with wonderful views
  • Disliked — No complaints really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    212
    155
    99
    54
See reviews for
158
166
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We have just returned from a great weekend at Cypress Lakes Resort. We have not recieved such incrediable service before. The staff were amazing, they were always very helpful and effeicent from check in to helping us make bookings for restaurants and wine tours.

The villas were luxurious and had amazing views from the balconies.

The faciliets at the Resort were fantastic. We had a choice of Three pools, Steam Room, Outside Spa with great views, Two Restauants, a Sports Bar, 18 Hole Golf Course and The Golden Door Day Spa.

Overall this was the best stay we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

a long distance from sydney, but well worth it!!
i had a great relaxing weekend, and the staff at hotel were excellent with organising wine tours, golf lessons and even a massage!!
pipette restaurant was wonderful! i could not more highly recommend it.
the rooms are expensive but i got a deal from the hotel which included breakfast and dinner, as well as 9 rounds of golf!!
check it out for yourself

  • Liked — pipette!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — book through hotel website for best deal
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

Stayed there in self catering accommodation at end of November this year. Bought lots of food to have a nice meal in the apartment only to discover that unless you pay another 30 Australian dollars you are not supplied with pots and pans. Contradiciton in terms - self catering.

However if you are wishing to travel round the many winery's in the region it is a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

My partner booked a weekend at the Cypress Lakes for us as a treat, and did not tell me that he had done so until it was all locked in. I then came on to Trip Advisor to see what we should expect, and was very very nervous about going.

I am pleased to report that the negative reviews did not do this friendly resort justice. We had a very relaxed and enjoyable break, and I would recommend the resort.

There were a few negatives: the sign posts in the resort are not very clear in places so it can be a little confusing, the bar is a little impersonal and basic, and the room service menu is very limited after 10.30pm. However, the service we recieved was impeccable. The staff could not have done more to help us, and their knowlege of the local area was very strong.

I'm not sure I would recommend the venue for a romantic get-away, but it is a great base for seeing the Hunter Valley and if you enjoy golf/ spas you could not ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

I agree with all the other low reviews...way overpriced for a less than 3 star hotel/resort. This seems to be a time-share turned into a hotel. Rooms are plain, stained carpets with no ammenities. We paid almost $300 (Australian) for a room advertised on the web for $240. Don't be fooled by their advertisement of spa's and fireplaces...no "villa" has both, only one or the other, and the "spa" is a tiny bath tub type, not the 2 person corner spa all the other Hunter Valley Resports and B&B's have. Breakfast is a burnt and cold buffet of below average food. We left the 5 Star Marriortt Harbor for a one night stay after wine tasting, and wished we would have taken the Wine Rover Bus back to Sydney that night!!! There are a ton of other Resorts and Bed and Breakfast places that are much better.
I wish I would have checked Trip Advisor before I booked...I wouldn't have been fooled by the employee provided reviews (Cut and pasted from their website desriptions!)

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

Lovely villa - spacious and divine bathroom products from the Golden Door Spa on site. Don't play golf but really enjoyed the day spa - vichy shower was fabulous, manicure was so-so. Local wineries were picturesque and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.