We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where are the washing facilities??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Where are the washing facilities??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Cypress Lakes during May for a car club rally.
Overall we found the villas very comfortable although they certainly were in need of a revamp.
The major disappointment was arriving with 4 days of washing from our road trip only to find there was a clothes dryer but NO washing machine!!!! I have never stayed in a 2 bedroom unit anywhere in Australia which did not have a washing machine or at the very least access to communal washing facilities. I did not appreciate having to drive 15-20 minutes away to find a laundromat!! I could not see the point of dryers because you can not put soaking wet clothes in a dryer.
I think guests should be advised of this situation on booking!
Aside from this our stay was excellent in particular due to the fabulous team of staff who were always happy, friendly and helpful despite the fact they were very busy and obviously working long hours.They made our stay very enjoyable. We also found the food to be of a very good quality. Breakfast was always great with lots of variety.
Sue Maitland

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and comment on your recent experiences at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

We don't have washing machines in the Villas, your comments are valid so we are looking at as part of our long term refurbishment plan to have washing machines installed.

We appreciate the feedback as this is how we are able to improve on the facilities we provide at the resort

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    214
    156
    99
    54
See reviews for
159
166
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Cypress Lakes resort. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. We could not fault this room. I did read some negative reviews but after staying there all I can say is some people must be hard to please.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Firstly I hope you had a fantastic Birthday during your stay at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 2 bedroom Villas and I hope that you will return for many more birthday celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over the long weekend. We were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade which was a delightful surprise. The staff were so attentive and friendly any time we spoke to them & required their assistance. The rooms were clean, odorless and the view from our room was nothing short of magnificent. The setting of the villas are quiet & tranquil, which was exactly what we wanted from our weekend away!

We had the breakfast one of the mornings. Make sure you pre book so you get the $10 discount. $20 may be a little steep for the breakfast, but nonetheless it was still tasty.

We ordered dinner from the restaurant one night and got it take away to our room. We both couldn't finish our meals they were so big & they were both delicious!

Some of the villas are quite a trek to reception, but a free shuttle service is provided by reception.

We were very happy with Cypruss Lakes resort and will certainly be back with our friends : )

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Accommodation suitable for 2 couples.
Brekky included meant a good deal but quality and choice were not great and staff seemed cranky.I know it has just been taken over by new group but it was all very ordinary and tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Cypress Lakes for 3 nights 18th to 20th May in a 2 bedroom apartment even though we had only booked and paid for a 1 bedroom apartment through a Wotif mystery booking. So we feel we received great value for our money. The apartment was very clean and spacious with a full kitchen. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed we had slept in on our entire trip away due to an amazingly soft mattress topper,perfect weight quilt and good quality feather pillows.The location was excellent and very close to many wineries and the stunning Hunter Valley Gardens. Cessnock was only a short drive away for any supplies. The colourful autumn trees losing their leaves and perfect sunny days made our stay picture perfect. The only small negative that we had was one morning at 6am a gardener down near reception started up his noisy blower or whipper snipper which echoed up the hill to our room and woke us up but we would definitely come back to Cypress Lakes resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

The quality of our beds is a standard across all of the Oaks Hotels and Resorts and we are so please that you found them to be perfect.

We are very central to all of the wineries and local attractions in the hunter Valley which makes us a great base to explore the Hunter Valley from.

Your feedback about the blower has been passed onto our head gardener who has change the times of when they now use blower in the resort.

I hope you will take the time to return to the resort soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Some of the previous reviews had me concerned but I was pleasantly surprised. The 2 bedroom villa was very well appointed, whilst a little dated in parts was clean and spacious. We loved the balcony overlooking the trees. We stayed her on a Wotif special, so was very good value for money. A great location also, close to all the Hunter attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
It was great to read you enjoyed your recent stay in a two bedroom Villa at Cypress lakes Resort.

The view from our balconies we believe are the best in the Hunter Valley we are so please that you agree with us

Your comments re the Villas being a little dated have been passed onto our refurbishment team who will be looking at this over the coming months.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We came to cypress lakes in four villas with my whole extended family. Scenery was lovely, the villas roomy and well stocked. Close to all our favourite wineries. Everything seemed to go smoothly and distance between villas was.manageable. Very enjoyable. We would come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

We are very pleased that you had a great stay with your extended family in our Villas.

I hope you will take the opportunity to visit the Hunter Valley again and choose to stay at Cypress Lakes Resort.

Look forward to welcoming back to the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.