We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but needs an injection of money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place but needs an injection of money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The villa was lovely with the best views over the valley, however lots of things were broken and needing to be repaired. The door onto the balcony wouldn't lock, the fly screen door had chunks of wood missing off it and wouldn't slide unless you picked it up, the kitchen had a broken drawer, there wasn't 4 of everything in the kitchen (only 2 wine glasses) and our bed was so hard it was like sleeping on steel plates - we only slept one night, our backs could not have suffered one more night. Breakfast on Monday morning was nice, however on Tuesday the some of the hot food served at breakfast was re-heated and burnt, so not really edible (my parents stayed for the 2 nights, we had to return to work). My husband was really looking forward to his round of golf as we had great memories when he played on our previous trip. The golf was still good but the course was not in such great condition and again needs some money spent to "spruce" it up back to it's former glory.
I have stayed at Cypress Lakes several times over the past 10 years and even held conferences there for my Company, however during this stay I noticed it is looking very tired. With such strong competition in the Hunter Valley you would think someone in management would catch on.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    214
    156
    99
    54
See reviews for
159
166
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at Cypress lakes with another couple for the weekend. On the positive side, the people were all helpful, the setting is beautiful and the villa we stayed in was spacious. The golf course was scenic and challenging. On the negative side, our room was not well cleaned, the equipment for a self contained villa was woefully inadequate. The kitchen was spartan, no tea towels or cleaning materials, mis matched wine glasses (it is set in vineyards!). The decor in the rooms was tired with lots of paint chips and worn furnishings. The televisions are old style cathode ray screens with only two local TV stations. Ou movie box didn't work and couldn't be fixed over 90 minutes of having a technician attend to it unsuccessfully. For this price, it should be a lot better, smarter and more modern. The place needs some money invested.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room - if they have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

A group of us golfers stayed at Cypress Lakes over the weekend. We had booked for Fri, Sat & Sun nights. When we turned up they only had a booking for Mon night. The girls on the desk were pleasant and were able to fix this problem up quickly. The units are well set out and a courtesy bus can pick you up from your unt to take you to the reception/bars/restaurants.
We played golf there but unfortunately the course is in very poor condition, which was disappointing as on the web site it looked great. It looks like very little money is being spent on it. The units we stayed in were fine although some of the TVs could only pick up a couple of stations.
The inclusive breakfast was great and the bars were well presented although the drink prices are over the top.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

we rented a villa for the Oct long weekend.

The "resort" is a long way from anything and the villas are a long way from the clubhouse. They also don't provide shuttles into the main attractions "due to insurance!".

The main impression is that the villa was so tired: the kitchen and bathroorm were terrible. It also stank a bit. There was a lot of noise comign through from the family in the villa below. The trees also rubbed againt the roof which kept waking us The duvet covers were also stained.

The breakfast was good quality altpugh so crowded we could get in hafkl the time and went off site. A bit of a rough crowd as well :)

Perhaps only a last resort as it wasnt that cheap.

The whole drink driving thing makes the Hunter a bit difficult. This is not this resort's fault but people should put their thinking caps on about making the area more world class- in terms of getting about (and "de- boganing" the place).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The villas are looking somewhat tired.
Administration for the Kids Club needs a shakeup- our booking was lost despite it being confirmed upon check-in.
Good location, good breakfasts. Golden Door Spa next door is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a beautiful setting and the design of the individual villas is really comfortable and private. This is my 5th visit here but I think it is my last as there are much better places in the Hunter Vally and particularly in Pokolbin. It is not a cheap place (approx 350 a night) and for the money the service is poor. The restaurant/cafe is expensive for what it serves ( Lunchtime burger .. And not that good either - the burger was cold.$19) although a very pleasant salad the night before. The kitchen is very poorly equipped with the absolute basics and missing essential things like a cutting board. The rooms are not serviced unless you pay $40 extra ..so with no equipment such as broom or vacuum cleaner the place quickly gets grubby. Would I recommend it? No, not unless you have kids and you want the privacy of the private apartment and They do provide good kids entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went with another couple and two small babies (under 12 months).

The place is kind of like a ski resort - and there's a lot of other more secluded places in the Hunter Valley.

But if you like being 'amongst it' in a quite large, hotel like apartment - this could be for you.

Room Tip: Book through a private owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.