We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Degustation with matching wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson's Cafe & Restaurant

Emerson's Cafe & Restaurant
Adina Vineyard | 492 Lovedale Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 49307029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: After 3 years in Pokolbin, Owner/Head Chef Emerson Rodriguez and his wife Samantha are excited to announce the re-location of their multi-award winning restaurant 'Emerson's at Pokolbin' to Adina Vineyard.Now appropriately renamed Emerson's Cafe & Restaurant, Emerson's is located within Adina Vineyard. Adina Vineyard is set in the heart of the Hunter Wine Region on Lovedale Road in Lovedale, surrounded by acres of established vineyards & an impressive olive grove. With newly renovated Cellar door on-site, Providore, Reflections Spa & Accommodation.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Degustation with matching wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great, fresh ingredients that balanced well throughout the courses and beautiful local wines to match each course. Dining at Emerson's with my wife made the long weekend in the Hunter very worth while.
Great ambiance with amazing furniture, opened spaces so we didn't feel like we were dining over other people, and light french music playing in the background added to a great experience.
The family owned feeling was there, relaxed and having a laugh with the staff.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    56
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Eating here was the highpoint of our stay in the Hunter Valley.

We had the degustation with matched wines and thoroughly enjoyed every course. Service was friendly and our overall experience was wonderful. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue for a 60th Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I recently held a dinner party for 50 guests at Emerson's to celebrate my Mums 60th party. The evening could not have gone better. Emerson was so accommodating leading up to the dinner and worked with us by suggesting a set menu that would work with the style of relaxed dinner that we wanted. We had one vegan as part of the group which the kitchen willingly catered for. The family member raved about the food afterwards. The staff on the night were wonderful and very friendly. Nothing was to much trouble and they were very accommodating. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. Overall an amazing restaurant. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

In early September, my family surprised me with a lovely dinner for about 40 friends at Emerson's to celebrate a "big" birthday! I have been to Emersons numerous times and have always found the food, atmosphere and the service to be excellent . My surprise party was no exception, with all guests raving about the generous and delicious shared plates.Thank you Emerson and Samantha for making this a party one to be remembered.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Generous Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Unlike a lot of restaurants that serve tapas Emersons delivers on quality and with generous serves. The calamari and zucchini fritters were very good as was the pork belly and the quail. Our waiter suggested an excellent aged semillon. The room is very nice, however it would probably be more appealing in the summertime as there are lovely French doors which open onto the garden.
We were there on a Monday afternoon, a day when a lot of other restaurants are closed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Emerson's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson's Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.