We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great day could not have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours
Pokolbin, New South Wales 2325, Australia
0414 316859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 Food & Drink in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique, private luxury full or 1/2 day tours. 2- 10 guests only. By limiting our tours to max 10 guests we have access to small family-owned wineries that have excellent wines but do not take bigger groups. Pickup from Hunter Valley only in luxury Mercedes Benz vehicles. My wife's ancestors planted some of the first vines in the Hunter Valley in 1853 and just never left. We have looked after visitors to our region since 1998. In 2008 we added some tours to our business to the delight of many guests. We offer 2 different full day tours, our very popular 'Progressive winemakers Lunch tour' and 2 half day tour to choose from. Or we can tailor a tour to suit your needs. Our aim is to show our guests great food, great wine and have loads of fun. Educational, yet light-hearted. Our tours are unique, over time, we have build up trust with local chefs and (boutique) winemakers, who all offer a personalised experience. Because we only have a small number of guests on our tours we can be flexible and tailor our tours to suit you. We can also assist with your accommodation needs if needed.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a great day could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Two Fat Blokes came highly recommended and did not disappoint!

We did the Hunter Gatherer full day tour and were chauffeured by the capable Jan (pronounced Yarn, who likes to spin a yarn) in their very comfortable and modern minibus. We were taken to a range of boutique wineries all of whom were very welcoming and often extremely entertaining! This was combined with trips to cheese manufacturers and also chocolate tasting (along with more wine!). Jan kept us informed throughout the trip providing interesting detail to the places we were visiting.

Lunch was a very tasty affair in the tapas style featuring a range of fresh meats, cheese, smoked fish, salad, olives and organic chicken all accompanied by your choice of wine just tasted at Peterson's....yummy!

I am rather partial to sparkling wine and on request Jan managed to fit in the Peterson's Champagne House as well which was a real effort on his part so thanks Jan.

The day was finished off with a visit to the Hunter brewery for something a little different where you can sample some of the freshest beer you will ever taste.

Top top it all off we were presented with a gift of wine and beer to take home.

The best part of this tour was the feeling that you were being very well looked after, you can see the tour guides have a great relationship with the wineries and you were made to feel very special with very attentive and welcoming staff everywhere you go. At no point do you feel rushed or pressured it was all very easy going.

I cannot recommend this tour enough, I look forward to returning to the Hunter for another one very soon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    23
    10
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon around the valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We only had one day in Hunter Valley so needed an afternoon tour - everyone else only offered full day or morning tours - and Two Fat Blokes was the only available tour. We booked online from Sydney, and then lost wifi so couldn't keep track of the booking, but the tourist information office in Hunter Valley checked all the details for us and confirmed the tour.

We visited three vineyards, tasting about half a dozen wines at each. I had been a bit sceptical about only visiting three, but it was enough. A good experience without drinking too much that we lost the ability to taste the different wines. Many more, and it would have been more of a drinking tour rather then a tasting tour. We also had an excellent snack of cheese, biscuits, olives, chutneys and cakes with the wine at the last vineyard. Grahame, the tour guide gave us enough information without overload, and left the tasting sessions to the vineyard experts. At the end of the tour, after dropping off the Australian guests, we English visitors were driven off the beaten track to see kangaroos grazing in the scrub and the vineyards.

All in all, an excellent afternoon, enough wine to get a taste of those available, good views of the scenery in the Hunter Valley and the opportunity to see kangaroos in their natural environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Could not have been better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Two fat blokes tours came highly recommended and we were not dissappointed. We did the full day wine tour and had an excellant time. All of the wineries we visited had their own fantastic qualities and a vibe that we believe you could not get from the bigger more commercial wineries! Jan was an amazing host and full of so much information that makes you feel that he loves his job and wants to spend the day with you. If we were to come back we will definately be booking a tour with two fat blokes, as they made our experience memorable and gave us the professional experience we expected of our day in the hunter valley!!!! Thanks Jan!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Gippsland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Hunter needs to be seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a great day out with Two Fat Blokes as part of a larger group at the end of last month. Tasting some interesting Hunter Valley wines together with Olives and Binnorie cheese was a great experiance.Our guide, Grahame, had organised a Picnic Lunch at Petersons and was a great source of information on local produce and obiously had a wider knowledge of wines from time spent living and working in Europe.
Having been in the hospitality business in the past it was a pleasure to be looked after by such a professional set up who had thought through in detail what customers were looking for. It was a very pleasent day indeed. Thank you

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect day in Hunter Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The tour was great, all the restaurants we visited were amazing! The food was exquisite and the wines, omg the winesssss!!! Wow! The tour minivan was great, even luxurious! We were really confortable, thanks to the a/c, cause that day was pretty hot! The tour guide was friendly, chatty, and knew what he was talking about! Thanks to the two fat blokes owner who welcomed us with a glass of sparkling wine,we had an extraordinary experience! We would recommand it to any foodies!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.