We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldfish

Goldfish
Tempus Two Complex | Cnr Broke & McDonalds Rds, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4998 7688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Goldfish is located at one of the Hunter’s most iconic wineries Tempus Two, Goldfish Hunter Valley provides an international Pizza & food menu coupled with an exclusive beverage offering, including an award-winning cocktail list and new and old world wines.
Matarangi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

On a deserted chilly Sunday night, the Tempus Two complex in Pokolbin looks like a ghost town and Goldfish has the same décor as all the other restaurants...we didn't want to spend a fortune on food (which you clearly can in the heart of the Hunter) so, went in with some trepidation. Excellent staff were happy with our order of sharing a pork and pistachio terrine (delicious!) and a margharita pizza (very good). So - you can eat well in great surroundings for a reasonable cost in the Hunter...(go back to your hotel room to share the wine you bought that day!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    52
    14
    6
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love this place. The food, the staff, the view, the drinks. Its just a place to relax and enjoy and have a great weekend day.

I roll in at least once every time I come to the hunter. The guys really know their stuff and the food is beyond amazing. The pizzas are the best ever. I will definitely go back. If only to talk to the guys behind the bar...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been here for birthdays, Saturday nights and lunch.

Pizza is amazing, interesting and different.

Wine list could do with improving but is very drinkable.

the lovely european mixologist is amazing in making cocktails. tell him what flavour, what alcohol what fruit and he will make an amazing cocktail for you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great food and cocktails,music know how to get the atmosphere going here. Went midweek so was a little quiet but would strongly recommend. The interior design on this place is so cool. Worth a visit just for that alone! You won't be disappointed..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is a new winter menu that is A-MA-ZING!!! The brussel sprouts side is a MUST to try - even if you don't like them usually - these are yummy - tossed in honey and truffle oil! I was lucky enough to try 2 dishes as we were sharing. The Oxtail dish was beautifully presented and really delicious! The gnocci was a winner too and the food going to other tables looked great - I want to go back and try the other dishes! Cocktails are amazing too - The best espresso martini I have ever had!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldfish also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Goldfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.