We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feeling of privacy but minutes away from the buzz of polkolbin.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Trees Country Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twin Trees Country Cottages to your Saves list
Twin Trees Country Cottages
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   111 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
NSW
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A feeling of privacy but minutes away from the buzz of polkolbin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked lunch at Roberts and was looking around for accommodation for the night (sat). We kept driving down past Roberts Restaurant to find Twin Trees Cottages. Met with a smile, we were shown cottage 1 and were pleased to pay $175 with breaky. Peter the owner built this place up from a 50acre paddock which now consists of Ten cottages positioned in pairs which are distanced around to give you a great sense of privacy. We loved the location of the property as it was so close to all the popular wineries and restaurants. The cottages where very clean and had everything we would want from, heating, extra bedding, fully equipped kitchen, music, flat screen TV & DVD, lounge room, dining table, toilet and bathroom, 2 bedrooms, one with queen size bed and the other with two singles.The decour of the cottages is very 90's so don't be expected a contemporary villa. Had a lovely verander to sit and have a drink or two. The breaky came in a basket with 4 eggs, a loaf of bread, two poppers, 2 fruit cups, packets of jams etc, cereals and 1 litre of milk. Had plunger coffee in the cottage. Compare Twin Trees Cottages to other hotels that charge $300 plus and I think you will be very happy to stay here for what you get and its location. Twin Trees satisfied all our needs, thanks Peter for putting us up for the night.

Room Tip: I think the cottages have been built over the past 10-15 yrs and may correspond with the age of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently booked out all the cabins at Twin Trees for our wedding at Roberts over the Easter weekend - potentially a logisitical nightmare organising 50 people into 10 cottages - and it certainly was no breaze - but with the incredible help and flexibility of Peter and Cathy at Twin Trees, we pulled it off and had an absolutely AWESOME weekend where we could BBQ and brunch with all our besties. Although the cottage pricing is a bit steep for basic cottage accommodation, the added value offered throughout our weekend was invaluable and was totally above and beyond expectation - from buying additional sofa beds to accommodate all our guests, ordering and setting up a karaoke machine free of charge for us to have some hen night fun, preparing fresh free brekkie baskets daily, lending tools & trailers, making calls to help with planning, collecting ice cream and delivering it to each of our guests cottages and (the wedding night cherry on top) arranging fresh rose petals in a heart-shape on our bed - the service at this cosy Hunter Valley retreat is second to none I've ever experienced and we'll never forget our awesome wedding weekend - it could never have been possible without the extraordinary enthusiasm of Twin Trees and, in particular, the site manager Cathy who couldn't have been more kind, helpful and smiley for the weeks leading to the wedding as well as on the weekend - what a star!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We found the manager couldn't locate our booking upon arrival , cabins basic, not clean and had to ask to have the bird deposits removed from the seating outside. Must have been great..many years ago. carpets and floors were the worst. I'm sure manager doesn't leave his desk!

keep looking folks.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 days mid week,$155 pn, late March in a 1 Bedroom "Rose Cottage" set in a quite setting adjacent to the in house vineyard. We felt lost in this magnificient 50 acre setting & found that we returned early each day from out wine escapde, just to sit & relax on the large verandah. The nearest cottage is not even in yelling distance.The breakfast pack, just to get you started is adequate & all facilities are modern.
This place is set at the end of a quiet short no through road, yet only minutes from restaurants, Pokolbin shops & easy access to wineries.
The hosts are friendly & only too pleased to assist.
Definately a posive break from those plastic, same same hotels.

Room Tip: All cottages are located in a rural setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the 1 bedroom cottages for $195 per night. For the price (in comparison to higher prices in the vincinty) we beleive it was great value. The cottages are seperate from each other and were clean and well maintained. Our cottage had a full kitchen with all the utensils we needed for daily meals, including use of the BBQ. We were provided with a selection of breakfast foods for the first morning to get us started. No dish and clothes washer in our cottage. The grounds of the estate are very pleasant, including vineyards and the swimming pool was also well maintained. It was great to sit out on the veranda and see the sun set across the vines. The location is very central to many wineries.
All in all great value for money and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay can get up in the morning cook breakfast on the veranda. Spend they day at hope estate which is nice and close, then back to your cottage after big day, throw some snags on the BBQ and enjoy a few cold beers. We love the place, staff always nice and helpful. And is very clean. Will be back there every year for CMC, and we wouldn't stay any where else, but Twin Trees.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We recently stayed at the twin trees country cottages, as accommodation we had booked fell through and it was one of the only places left available- we now see why.

We negotiated a rate of $300p/n but it was certainly not worth that! Although the cottage had all the bare necessities, it was extremely basic. When paying $300 a night you would expect to get breakfast supplied both days- especially when what they were supplying was so basic.

Positives were that it was clean and very central and a lovely location. But overall definitely not worth what they are charging

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Trees Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Country Cottages

Address: 111 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Country Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twin Trees Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Trees Country Cottages Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Trees Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.