We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Disgusting customer service EVER!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pokolbin Cabins

Pokolbin Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pokolbin Cabins
Save
You added Pokolbin Cabins to your Saves list
212 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Disgusting customer service EVER!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Most Disgusting customer service EVER!!! So rude and seriously need to be reviewed by Fair Trading for their practices!!

Booked in to a cabin last week - requested the 5 bed - 8 ppl cabin $960 - paid the deposit - all appeared fine... THEN got an email from Jane saying that "You have been booked into Cabin 6 which is a three bedroom cabin but only has three beds which will not accommodate eight guests." and if I wanted to change to a cabin that would fit our party "You would definitely need to move out of Cabin 6 but I note that you have only paid the price for this cabin whereas the three bedroom cabins that can sleep up to eight guests are $$1,120.00 for two nights." $160 more than what we were quoted and confirmed for 8 people. The options on their website are to accommodate 8, 13 or 15... so if they cannot accommodate 8 people in the 8 people cabin then what the hell are they advertising that for?!

She claimed she had rung me "The telephone number that I called twice last night is 04xx xxx xxx (as shown on the booking confirmation sheet). It simply rang out with no message bank for me to leave you a message." when I suggested that she'd gotten the wrong number as I had not received a phone call and did in fact have message bank the reply was: "I guess one could call the same telephone number incorrectly twice - not! "

She admitted the booking was an internal error on their behalf, but still would not find a solution to our issue - to which I said I would find alternative accommodation and would happily relay the service she'd provided to my friends and colleagues to which I got the following reply: "Am I concerned with your threats - not in the least! Am I concerned with losing business through you - not in the least!"

This woman is a piece of work! The cabin are minimalist as it is and if I'm going to pay pay the extra cash to someone deserving then this rude, obnoxious lady!

At the end of the day - their website constitutes false advertising - they take your booking and then tell you because of a computer glitch its your fault and you have to pay for it - ABSOLUTE JOKE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The Hunter Valley is a mid point for our group of friends so we probably visit the Hunter Region 4-5 times a year. This year we were looking for a three to four bedroom apartment and came upon the log cabins - we were pleasantly surprised! The cabin was extremely clean, well layed out and well equipped both inside and out. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Location is also good - only a two/three minute drive to the village (we actually walked in). We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Group of 10 of us stayed here! Was great having 2 bathrooms! Great location! The rooms are not sound proof but it as very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights. It was cold (being in the middle of winter) but the fireplace was great and a lot of fun. Being city slickers, we particularly enjoyed chopping wood and having breakfast outside on the beautiful grass expanse outside.

The cabins themselves have a log cottage feel which is nice, but still manage to be clean and not having too many insects. The hot water was fast and long-lasting, and there were no complaints about linen, beds etc. The cabins have lots of little things that you can appreciate (eg clothes hanging rack, BBQ).

The location is excellent - right in the middle of the wineries. Was great to see kangaroos on site as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabins 8 and 10 - both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed at this place many times over the last few years. This trip was our first since new management took over and it has improved out of sight since our previous visit. The cabins have been cleaned up and in some cases renovated. Jane and Colin were friendly and welcoming from the initial contact, right through to check out. And they have done an amazing job with the whole place. We've always liked it as a great place to stay in a big group but our experience last weekend made us like it even more. We will be back again for sure!!

Room Tip: Cabin 3 for a large group is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

For a truely great, comfortable, authentic place to stay this is it. We had 6 people stay comfortably in the 3 bedroom cabin. Owners are hard working and very helpful. Bed was very comfortable, Everything in the kitchen you need, BBQ works well, Great grounds, cabins private.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

A group of friends and I just spent a very hot and uncomfortable weekend in cabin 6 at the Cabins and would absolutely NOT recommend it to anyone. When we arrived the water was turned off, we had to search for the pump to turn it on. Then we realised the hot water also wasn't turned on so we had to wait for that to heat up. Neither of which would bother me except that there was no information in the cabin to tell us that we needed to do either of those things. It was a particularly hot weekend so we turned the air conditioner on in the main room, it did not cool down the space at all, even after running for several hours. None of the bed rooms are air conditioned, nor do they have fans, so a sleepless night was had by all. Frankly the price we paid for the facilities provided is not worth the money, there are numerous other options in the same area that would be far better value for money. There is new management apparently so perhaps they will address these issues, in the mean time, take your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pokolbin Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Cabins

Address: 212 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Cabins Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pokolbin Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.