We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cam-Way Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cam-Way Estate to your Saves list
Cam-Way Estate
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   81 Campbells Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Escape Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a lovely night at Camway, great facilities, tennis and swimming pool, gorgeous surrounding, quiet and tucked away, and excellent friendly service. So easy to get around the Hunter.. We will be heading back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a studio suite very suited to our needs. Staff very helpful - rang Hunter Valley Gardens to clarify half price entry for Xmas lights entry if visiting during same day. Breakfast baskets were more than adequate. Helpful info re boutique wineries nearby. Although other guests were staying there we still felt as though we were the only ones there apart from the roos and bird life on our walks to shops and vineyards. Tossed up whether to extend our stay but decided to make a return visit in near future - have already recommended Cam Way to our son and grandkids. Many thanks to Ian and staff who were always ready to assist - missing the breezes already.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location in serene surroundings -
Very handy to wineries and restaurants, nothing is too much trouble. The units are immaculate and very well appointed, it really has everything extra towels pillows blankets - even a torch & let's not forget the "sick bag" - people do get sick in the best of places. There are instructions for everything in the area to the appliances in the room.

Great for couples or families - the pool, tennis courts and BBQ facilities would be great in summer - cabins are airconditioned and we thought they we're brand new.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Just call and discuss your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Relaxing country cottages in walking distance to wineries & great restaurants. Cittages are very spread out so it was a quiet & peaceful experience. Great service & helpful staff helped us book winery tours & were happy to offer their assistance. I will return & recommend them to my friends

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location Location Location .... That really says it all. Cam-way Estate is the ideal location for easy access to numerous wineries, restuarants, cheese factories etc. We were lucky enough to book accomodation for myself, my partner and 6 friends at Cam-way Estate in early August and were more then happy with the choice. Our group was instantly made to feel welcome by the staff and we were given information on the local wineries and restaurants etc. The accomodation was outstanding, the room clean on arrival and the beds were super comfy. It was quiet, and very relaxing sitting on the verandah enjoying the bushland surroundings and listening to the birds singing. The Estate is in the best location situated within walking distance to many wineries, restuarants, cheese factories etc and we made great use of their close proximity. We would like to thank Ian and Robyn was making our stay so enjoyable and we cant wait to visit their estate again in the future. I highly recommend Cam-way estate to anybody, couples,singles and families you will not be dissapointed it is a gem of a place xo Thanks again for such a wonderful Hunter Valley experience.

Room Tip: Any room / cottage would be great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Cam-Way is located in a lovely bush-like setting. Very quiet and peaceful. The units are clean and very well-equipped...hair dryer, iron and ironing board, torch plus all the kitchen utensils you would normally need. Beds nice and comfy and you also get provided with plenty of towels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently booked two nights at Cam-Way Estate for eight people and from the outset I was impressed by the helpfulness of the staff and management. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made feel very welcome even though, due to late plane flights, we never arrived at the Estate until about 8.30pm.
The accommodation and surrounds were well kept and rooms clean and well appointed. But it is the location that is the real selling point. Situated as it is in a quiet little valley behind the corner of MacDonalds and Broke roads, it is close to many great cellar doors, restaurants, specialty food shops and attractions - many within walking distance.
All in all we would highly recommend Cam-Way Estate to anyone, and we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: If you have a few couples together, try the three room villa suite that can be used as either separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cam-Way Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam-Way Estate

Address: 81 Campbells Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cam-Way Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cam-Way Estate undoubtedly the most central location in Pokolbin... Set on 60 beautiful acres of tranquil parkland in the "Very Heart of the Hunter" surrounded by the best the Hunter has to offer... Boasting 6 vineyards and 7 restaurants on our boundary. Walk through to Pokolbin Village, Vineyards, Restaurants & Concerts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cam-Way Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cam-Way Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cam-Way Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.