We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blaxlands Inn

Blaxlands Inn
2198 Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
612 4998 7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner here a lot, the service was awesome, the food was great and the atmosphere was perfect. Really have no complaints. Will be retuning when we're in the hunter again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    77
    36
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“6 Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at Blaxlands inn Restaurant recently with a group of friends.
I have dined here on a few occasions while I'm visiting the hunter valley & I have experienced quality service and food every visit. Our trips to the hunter valley are not complete without dropping in.
The restaurant manager, Amy took great care of us and nothing was ever to much of a hassle. The restaurant was busy and The ambience sitting outside was lovely, although I have also sat inside previously and found it pleasant.
Service to this standard is not familiar in many restaurants, sometimes even a smile is to much to ask, however from the moment u walk into the restaurant you are warmly welcomed with smiles, and given wonderful service from amy and her fellow staff.
We will definitely be returning to this little gem. Thank you to all staff for a wonderful evening and also our driver Doug who picked us up and dropped us off in their courtesy bus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A huge fan - Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have always been a huge fan of Blaxlands Inn - I have been a few times and loved their food and always thought they had wonderful service. Also, I work in hospitality and am forever recommending Blaxlands as a great place for lunch and dinner.

Unfortunately, when I visited on a Thursday evening with some girlfriends, it had lost some of its shine. I'm not sure if it was because it wasn't the weekend and perhaps they didn't have their star performers on or maybe it was slightly too busy for the two waitresses but either way, their attitude was inconsistent and often narky.

Food was decent but expensive - I got the deep dish pie for $22.95 but that was the only thing on the plate and I'm a big veggie fan! A side portion of beans was $8.50 but I was told it was more than enough for two people so I shared with a friend. It came in a TINY bowl and was barely enough for one, let alone two! Also, it was very very oily.

One of the steaks ordered was very fatty (again expensive - $30 for steak and chips? Hmmm).
The girls who ordered the Warm Lamb Salad ($24.95) seemed happy with their meals. One of my friends ordered the salmon special which was literally just a salmon fillet and some mash - again, no vegetables - for approx $28 but she seemed happy enough. Wine was tasty - a glass of Blaxland Shiraz was $8 and I was very satisfied though I thought the piccolo of blush at $10.95 was a bit pricey.

Dessert was tasty - we had the Dark Chocolate Fondant ($11.50) which came with a small scoop of good quality ice cream and some frozen berries from the supermarket (bit of a let down). Whats wrong with making a quick coulis?

Sadly, the attitude from the older waitress upon settling the bill was terrible and left a bad taste in our mouths as we left.

It wasn't the worst but it wasn't the best either and I won't be recommending them to my customers anymore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 36 for lunch on the weekend.
Great food that was reasonably priced. Good wine list that was also reasonable.
It was a very hot day and although they couldn't fit such a group inside, it was fine sitting outside under the roof.
Only down side was that there were no burgers on the kids menu for lunch, only for dinner.
Would recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Still outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Upmarket, professional restaurant experience. Everything was great from ambience, service, food and wine. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaxlands Inn also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Blaxlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaxlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.