We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Steak House

Hunter Valley Steak House
Cnr Broke & McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
61 2 4998 2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked our dinner for sunday night, Beautiful ambiance, old school style waiting room with wood fire can say very romantic. Customer service was outstanding. especially waiter name aaron he was excellent. Food was perfectly cooked and presentation was good. another good place for couples or family to have nice dinner in valley.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    19
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No services over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on time , there were only 10 diners, we ordered or pre dinner drinks they arrived 20 min. Later, about an hour our order was taken as well as an order for a bottle of wine. Our dinner arrived 45 min later - cold - and the wine arrived after we finished our dinner - over priced

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good food - shame about the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

They advise "bookings are a must" but there was only 4-5 other tables of guests dining when we arrived at 7pm.

We ordered a main course of Fillet Mignon ($38) which arrived 45mins later (shame about the wait) .. but it was cooked beautifully to our choice.

Wine selection for buying "by the glass" is limited to one for each wine type (eg. chardonnay, merlot etc) - cost averages around $7 per/glass. Considering they are located in a winery district, I would have thought they could be promoting more local wineries a provide an extensive selection.

Service, although friendly enough, was a little slow especially when trying to obtain our account.

Overall dining was okay and "suitable" for a hotel restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Did not get to eat!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I do not often write bad reviews, like most I simply ask for decent service, good food, price equivalent to the service and food and a nice atmosphere. With the steakhouse we did not even get to the food. Admittedly we made a late booking (one hour before) but they said yes ok. They could have said no if they were too busy. We arrived on time and were told they were running about 10 minutes late. No problem for us. We returned 10 minutes later. A male staff member was openly agitated about something and was not hiding his feelings. I thought oh oh this does not bode well. We were shown to our table. Twenty minutes went by and no one took our order, no one actually came near us. Another twenty minutes passed with no one taking our order by which time our daughter was tired and agitated and so were we. We left.

How difficult to just take our order, get us some starters, or come and give us some of the most basic of human respect could it be? The restaurant was approximately 70% full. This was expensive as far as steakhouses go but we were prepared to pay but in that expense is dining experience and service. We were not afforded that opportunity.

I cannot remain silent and warn others. It's a real shame. I was looking forward to a nice steak and ended up earring nothing but cheese and biscuits that night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The taste and portion is great! We enjoyed our dinner there. The only downside is not understanding our options. Did not know that the Le Club Accorhotels card can be applied and we paid full price for the meal which is $55 aud per set whereby we can get a 50% off with the card.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Steak House also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.