We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange on Hermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Grange on Hermitage to your Saves list
The Grange on Hermitage
820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Grange on Hermitage passed all of my expectations. My husband and I stayed for the weekend and found the place to be in a wonderful location, quiet, private and absolutely beautiful. The room was spacious and clean with a generous breakfast ready. The staff were friendly and we fell in love with Xena the black lab who greeted us on arrival. We would recommend this location to anyone and look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had the most wonderful one night stay at The Grange and we will definitely be back.
Great hosts, Chris and Ken made us feel very welcome. I
am so fussy with cleanliness and our room, with ensuite, walk in robe and kitchenette, was spotlessly clean. Beautiful linen, our bed was oh so soft and the pillows were perfect and hence had a great night's sleep. The self serve breakfast was very generous and just what you need before setting off for a day of wine tasting.
Loved the location too. Can also recommend Casuarina for dinner - only a 2 minute drive away, perfect.
We are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for our anniversary last year, and this year decided we'd like to visit the Hunter Valley again and what better place to stay than the Grange?

Chris and Ken were away, so we were looked after by Leonie who was lovely. We also enjoyed being greeted by Xena, their black labrador, whenever we went onto our little verandah.

Everything was great - the breakfast was lovely, the room was immaculate and it's such a great size, with a full kitchen and refrigerator (perfect for storing all the wine!) and it's in a great position - within minutes you are at lots of different wineries.

Unfortunately there was one thing that tainted our trip a little bit. On the first night we stayed there our neighbours got home at 12am and we could hear every little thing that was going on in their room (things we didn't particularly want to hear!!) and they weren't quiet until after 2am. The walls are very thin, and it was very frustrating for us - but this was through no fault of the owners at all.

Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Grange on Hermitage recently. The accomodation was very nice and comfortable with a king bed and spa bath, kitchenette facililites with breakfast provided for both mornings. The Grange is situated in a very handy spot to access the wineries and restaurants of Pokolbin.The grounds are lovely and the setback from the road is quiet without the feeling of isolation. A lovely touch is Ellie the black Labrador dog who is so sweet and turns up to greet you on arrival and she has the sweetest nature. Leone was a great host and was at the ready with local information about restaurants and places of interest. The Grange is good value for money. All in all it was a very relaxing and pleasurable stay at the Grange, we hope to go back for a stay soon.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a big picture window with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recently stayed at The Grange on Hermitage and had an excellent stay. Ken and Chris were very welcoming and friendly. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a cottage which was spotless and had a cosy fireplace. The room hire also included a lovely breakfast of cereal, bread, fruit salad and yoghurt.
Our overall stay at The Grange on Hermitage added to an enjoyable trip to the Hunter and we can’t wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband, infant son and I stayed here for five nights at the end of our three week holiday in Australia in March. Ken and Chris are perfect hosts and really make a huge effort to ensure that your stay is a comfprtable and memorable one. Ken and Chris upgraded us free of charge to a cottage as they felt it more suitable with the baby- this was realy appreciated. A great place to stay for a relaxing affordable stay in the lovely if overly expensive Hunter Valley area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights for our 43rd Wedding Anniversary; Ken & Chris our hosts were helpful and considerate and made it special for us. The queen guest room was very large, beautifully furnished and so comfortable, even breakfast was a real treat. Definitely recommend a visit to this property and dont forget to say hi to the "dogs"

Room Tip: at thye recommendation of Ken we booked the queen guest room with en-suite at the front of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange on Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.