We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning and not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Gardens

Hunter Valley Gardens
Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
61 2 4998 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hunter Valley Gardens like an insider
Top Rated
$147*
and up
Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney
Ranked #11 of 91 things to do in Pokolbin
Attraction details
Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning and not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent about two hours walking through these beautiful gardens. Absolutely a must when visiting the Hunter. When we visited the roses were in full bloom and were stunning. There are so many areas ranging from formal to themed. Dont miss the children's nursery rhymes section.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    278
    91
    32
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were hoping to visit the gardens but only had 1 - 2 hours to spare and didn't think the high price was worth it. How do pensioners afford to visit the gardens? The price needs to come down and i'm sure the amount of people visiting would then rise.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Our second visit didn't dissapoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The 4 of us arrived a bit late in the afternoon and being seniors were happy that they now offer a train ride with commentary that takes you all around the gardens for only $7.
Our first visit was about 10 years ago and lots of growth and improvements were obvious, however some of the displays are due for a facelift.
Overall a pleasant visit again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As this was our second visit in a year to these beautiful gardens, we took the train, as we had extensively walked the whole garden last time. It is just simply superb and is a credit to those who set it up and the hard working gardeners who maintain it. Divided into smaller "rooms", all of which are different to the next, one can see Italian, French, Asian, Indian etc. and the childrens garden is a delight. Definitely worth a visit whether a garden lover or not.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't forget the Camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a relaxing morning wandering around these beautiful gardens. We were a bit 'put off' by the entry price, however felt it was great value once we set foot inside. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and got some great pictures of ourselves with amazing backdrops. The different themes for each area were fantastic and we came away with a few ideas for our backyard too. Make sure in the storybook garden to sit up on the big red chair and have your photo taken. Don't forget to sit next to Humpty Dumpty too. A folding camera tripod would be a great advantage if wanting to take 'selfies'. Allow about 3 - 4 hours to wander through.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Gardens also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Wollombi, Cessnock
New South Wales, Australia
 

Been to Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.