We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Gardens

Hunter Valley Gardens
Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
61 2 4998 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$145*
and up
Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Pokolbin
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Shellharbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Oh my! What a gorgeous night we had viewing the display - absolutely fabulous!!! Generally well organised though a brochure outlining what was where would have been good as we had no idea how much there was to see (to pace ourselves and make sure what got to spend adequate time everywhere), not where toilets and food vans were located. We visited on a Sunday night and it wasn't too packed at all. Will be back for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    234
    82
    30
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved the gardens! The Italian grotto and the Storybook garden were my favourite parts but it is all wonderful! Take some water with you, and do a leisurely stroll around the gardens...and don't forget to take a rest in one of the many shaded, relaxing spots throughout.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hunter Valley Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a great place to spend some time with friends.
The gardens as spacious and the design is wheelchair and pram friendly.
This is afavourite place for families and for outings.
All year round the gardens have something to show you.
Very impressed with the clanliness and manicuring of plants and thee esthetics of the whole area.
Highly recommend

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seen it, next”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was ok... I was expecting something spectacular for the price but its ridiculous what they can charge for looking at some flowers and lights. The fireworks were terrible. Couldn't see them properly from the supposed best vantage point.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful yet ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were misinformed as to what we would be able to see if we went to the Christmas Lights. We were told that if we went went the evening opening hours began we would be able to see the entire garden then enjoy the "lights." Not true -- if you only go to see the lights in the garden that is all you will see; the rest of the gardens are closed. Needless to say, we were quite disappointed as we could have visited during the day, seen the entire gardens, then returned in the evening for the light show (at an additional cost of course). The light show was very nice although two of the exhibits were dark! The first hour was spent waiting until the lighted garden path was opened -- not advertised. There was a show for the children and some food carts where we were supposed to spend time and money. The actual Christmas Light show was very nice; we walked at a leisurely pace and were able to traverse the entire exhibit is about one hour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Gardens also viewed

Wollombi, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.