We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borrodell VIneyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borrodell VIneyard
Save
You added Borrodell VIneyard to your Saves list
298 Lake Canobolas Road, Orange, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Orange B&B and Inns
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently stayed for one night in one of the suites (actually two private modern villas perched high up on the hill with amazing views across the valley back towards Orange and surrounded by vines and orchards). The winery is about 10 to 15 minutes outside Orange. The restaurant is only open on weekends and unless you want to drive back into town (not a great idea after inevitably sipping a few wines watching the sun go down with the kangaroos grazing in front of you) you should bring some supplies. The kitchen facilities are basic (fridge, microwave) so nothing elaborate. We found the hosts friendly and helpful - even letting our young daughter go apple picking which she loved. The suites still have some teething problems (bathroom door not shutting properly) but overall are spacious and well appointed with an open fire to relax in front of while admiring the view. The spectacular glass walls however mean you get the rare plus of watching sunrise in bed - but don't then expect to draw the curtains - there aren't any ! Overall a great experience and we will be back (preferably a night the restaurant is open as it looked good and is only a short stroll from the suites)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My friends and I visited the Borrodell Winery on Sat May 26th, we have been to visit this winery on many occassions and previously enjoyed the hour or 2 we stayed. On this occassion we tasted many of the wines and we thought we would come back later as the winery was quite busy as we left we asked about purchasing some apples, where we we told by a mature lady that if we didn't buy the wine we can't buy the apples rather sarcastically. We won't be back. It's unfortunate that some people in business can't be gracious.

Room Tip: No we did not stay only wine tasting as we have on several other occassions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and 21 month old daughter stayed at the Borrodell Winery for 2 nights in November 2011. The winery has 5 cabins, and we stayed in the 3 bedroom bungalow called 'truffles'. The cabin was situated within the vineyards, and boasted excellent views across the Canobolas Mountain valley.

In the morning kangaroos and birds came right up to the house, while at night we sipped Borrodell's excellent gewurztraminer and chardonnay on the balcony and enjoyed the clear country air.

The staff were welcoming and shared some fabulous insider stories around winemaking and the general history of Orange.

I would thoroughly recommend both the wines, and accommodation at the Borrodell winery.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in Chardonnay one of the 2 guesthouses. Great fire for those cold nights and exceptional hosts.

Highly recommend the seven sisters restaurant and any of the Borrodel wines and also their perry.

Great weekend and the region is booming.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Borrodell for 2 nights mid week for our wedding anniversary. Have not been up this way for years and we were hoping to check out some vineyards. Unfortunately many are closed during the week, however a dirt road trip to Printhie was very informative and worthwhile.
Borrodell Vineyard is a 10 minute drive out of Orange. There is an onsite restaurant which is open on weekends. The cellar door is advertised as open but did not appear to be manned for tastings while we were there. A helipad is avail. for the adventurous, rich or time poor visitors. Two other larger cabins are available but I did not review these. The new cabins - Somerset and Kingston - are very modern couple only suites set on the side of the mountain with the most glorious views over Orange - the lights at night are spectacular. They are split level open plan with floor to ceiling glass to take in the view. Beautiful spa bathroom with quality linen & toiletries. The lower level has an open fire, nice leather lounge and a kitchenette with microwave, kettle and toaster. Upper level (a couple of steps) has the queen bed and wardrobe fitted with quality bathrobes. A small open balcony is off the lounge area - the website shows a BBQ but this was not evident when we stayed.
I am setting a picture of one fantastic, romantic and luxurious place to stay. And it is. We really would love to go back and a few little issues will not stop me from recommendations to others. I just hope the owners take the following in the right context and make the minor adjustments to turn the suites into one of the most luxurious and enjoyable places you could stay in. Just a little more attention to detail will do this.
There are very limited plates etc in the kitchen, which is fine except that only one cereal bowl meant a jog across the mountain to the kitchen early in the morning. There is washing up liquid etc. under the sink except the bottle was almost empty. And given that the plates could have been cleaner, we could have done with a bit more. The owners provide you with a bottle of milk and there is some cereal in a canister plus tea and coffee. No breakfast supplies are available mid week, so self catering or an early morning drive is necessary. The morning sun, lovely views and an open fire make leaving for breakfast difficult and it would be nice if a quality breakfast basket was provided. The friendly owner did help out with a good coffee for my husband and he said it was better than the one he had at Bills Beans! The only other issue is a suggestion that the bed be moved for a vacuum underneath - I discovered more than i needed to when searching for a dropped piece of jewellery. I also think the poor almost dead red cyclamen in the bathroom either needs a holiday or at least a regular water - which I did give it.
We would have loved to have purchased some Borrodell wine, which the local bottle shop told me is really good, but unfortunately no one was available at check out time to operate the eftpos machine or sell the product. This also meant we could not pay for our accommodation. Fortunately we are honest and forwarded the money via bank transfer as soon as we arrived home.
Borrodell is an amazing place to stay, and I am sure the owners will address the minor issues and no one will be disappointed with their stay. They will enjoy it as much as we did or even more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borrodell VIneyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrodell VIneyard

Address: 298 Lake Canobolas Road, Orange, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borry and Gaye operate the successful horticultural and vineyard enterprise “Borrodell Vineyard” in the Towac Valley near Orange NSW. The property includes a restaurant with underground wine cellar / function centre and eco-friendly cottage and suite accommodation.The well-vegetated and stunning slopes house cool-climate grape varieties, as well as cherries, over 170 different varieties of heritage apples and plums. Black Perigord Truffles are also grown on the property. Around 20% of the farm area is dedicated to native vegetation and conservation. The cool climate wines include: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Gewürztraminer, Cherry liqueur, Cherry port and a Sparkling Wine made in the French Champagne style. The 2008 gewürztraminer received 96 points (top ranking) from James Halliday, and was voted best in Australia in its category. Many previous vintages have also received medals and accolades from various wine shows throughout Australia.The onsite restaurant has a reputation not only as a complete fine dining experience but also for the stunning views it haqs to offer - an unforgettable experience.Borry and Gaye love to receive guests and take pride in sharing the beauty of Borrodell Vineyard. Come and enjoy it for yourself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrodell VIneyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.