We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Templers Mill

Templers Mill
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Templers Mill
Save
You added Templers Mill to your Saves list
94 Byng Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked the Queen Executive Room, but were upgraded to the King Room (for no extra cost). The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and generous in size.
The quality of the room and linen were excellent. We ordered breakfast to our room which was excellent, toast hot and crisp!! I can highly recommend this motel. I can only suggest that the other negative comments must be rooms that have not been renovated. I asked for a renovated room like in the pictures on the website. I was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Manager at Templers Mill, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi Joanne,

Thanks for your feedback! We are very proud to offer the quality of finishes in our establishment, especially in our newly refurbished Executive style rooms.

Our breakfast staff do work hard to ensure our meals are nice and hot and the toast is crisp and cooked to perfection, we are pleased to hear that our hard work and efforts are paying off.

We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms yet to be renovated. This is a priority for our team; in the meantime we have adjusted some of our photos online so guests can see the variety of rooms we do offer. We hope to see you back to Orange and Templers Mill Motel in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
15
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night for work upon recommendation from a friend and reading reviews on here. I must say i am very disappointed and will not be staying again. Although the hotel is centrally located, all other aspects outweigh this. The room was small with very dated furnishings. The bathroom wasnt cleaned properly, with the hot water in the shower not working properly, and as i was given an interconnecting room i could hear the people in the other room. The room was non smoking however as there were ash trays outside all rooms the smell still drifted into the room even with the door closed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Manager at Templers Mill, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We have amended our website since your stay and have adjusted some images online to reflect the variety of rooms we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

we stayed here as the wedding we were attending was using this as a pickup point for the courtesy bus they were running out to their reception. we were right on the road in a very small and smelly room. the bathroom had just a washbasin with no benches to put anything on. on seeing the room i was very thankful that i had got another room for my elderly mother and had not all tried to stay in one room. luckily it was a short stay but the price was was high for the quality of the room

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a family room, very spacious main room and bathroom, nice paintings on the wall. Very clean and modern, motel is 100m from the centre of town, but didn't hear any noise, except the pleasant sound of church bells ringing outside on the Sunday morning. Reception is open till 10pm so if you're arriving late it should be ok.

Room Tip: Half the rooms are up a set of stairs so if this bothers you ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a "superior" room on our second use of this motel. The room was excellent compared with the average country Australian motel. Very roomy, good king bed, excellent bath room with lots of space. Quiet, but very close to the main street, shops and eating places. Intend using this for all of our Orange visits. No restaurant, but good access to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Orange is looking very beautiful this week; the street trees range from golden elms, red oaks, plane trees, liquid ambers, poplars, claret ash and many other exotics, and all changing colour - as gorgeous as anything in you will see North East USA. Our room at the motel faced Byng Street with a balcony and lovely afternoon sun. We had experienced the executive rooms previously and knew they are worth the extra money - large room, king bed and luxurious bathroom, with excellent facilities and space. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping centre, and parks. Golf at the end of the street if that is what you like to do. Will be staying there again shortly.

Room Tip: Ask for executive room on upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights for work. The premises was well presented and tidy. Reception staff friendly on arrival. The room was modern and very clean. Great bathroom! It is a short walk to major shopping centre and the motel joins onto the Services club. There was a heated indoor pool and decent gym at the club which was free to guests of the motel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again (:

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Templers Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templers Mill

Address: 94 Byng Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Orange's CBD, Templers Mill is centrally located in Byng Street and is part of the Orange Ex-Services' Club complex. As part of the Club's complex guests can enjoy the convenience of staying on site when attending a private event or conference as well as enjoying the great facilities the Club has on offer, including the Pool & Leisure Centre. CHECK-IN & CHECK-OUT TIMES: Our Standard Check-In Time is 2.00pm Our Standard Check-Out Time is 10.00am *prior arrangements may be made for early check-in or late check-outs (fees may apply, subject to availability) Guests staying at Templers Mill also have the added convenience of charging food and beverage expenses to their rooms while visiting the Club. Templers Mill offers many services include off street parking and complimentary Wi-Fi internet. Templers Mill offers comfortable and convenient accommodation at an affordable rate with our 47 units including Standard, Executive, Family and Disabled options Please be advised that due to the construction work currently underway at the motel, you may experience some construction noise. All work starts after 7am and cease by 5pm Monday to Friday and 8am till 4pm on some Saturdays. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience or noise may occur from this. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Templers Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.