We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Luxury in Orange” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Russie Suites Orange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added de Russie Suites Orange to your Saves list
de Russie Suites Orange
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Hill Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit of Luxury in Orange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Lovely, friendly staff. Great rooms with a good kitchenette. Comfortable beds and lovely environment. Convenient location to shops and wineries. The pool was a bit small, although overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    61
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
93
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was drawn by the write-up, the pictures. With the price differentiation for a property to stay in a quiet country town, I was expecting something a little exceptional. Apart from being clean as it is fairly new and close to a couple of the better restaurants in Orange, I really have nothing else positive to comment on. My review is based on the fact of staying in room 100. The room should really be the manager's rest room as it was right behind reception and with windows of the bedroom and living looking onto the car park. We suffered from having a decent sleep due to the guests using the night entrance door (as front main entrance closes at 8.30pm) and the permanent security light seeping through the louvered blinds. The internal of the room was fine but again we were deprived of sleep due to very noisy refrigerator and air conditioning.

If you choose to stay at this place, just ensure you DO NOT take room 100 unless you like noise and light. I am unable to comment on the rest of the property.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 100
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to declare that my husband and I like luxurious accommodation when we go away for the weekend. The De Russie property is billed as this, and describes itself as having a 'Tuscan' ambiance.This is completely inaccurate.
Our suite was extremely small, poorly appointed and gave no hint of luxury- it felt like a very ordinary motor inn. I can see that some guests like to receive what is advertised by the manager as a " European breakfast "in a paper bag. Supermarket bread wrapped up in paper for the next day with some jam and packets of butter and a small sachet of museli. Having been very often in Europe this falls far short of the mark. There is inadequate hanging space and nowhere to fit suitcases. The bathroom has a stand alone sink with almost nowhere to place women's toiletries . The towels are not large enough to qualify as bathsheets and of a poor quality. Our suite had very poor natural light and very few windows- requiring lights to be on even during the day.

Worse than this was the complete lack of 'hospitality' from the staff. It is an industry that demands that front of house staff actively converse with guests. One female staff member did not even speak to my husband and I when we walked in and out of the front door.

The property is very well located - close to the wonderful chef hatted 'Lolli' restaurant and excellent wine bars. I am happy to spend money on accommodation because for us it is vital for the weekend ambiance..I would not recommend this establishment and do not feel that it even represents good value by country hotel standards.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieOJ, General Manager at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jennifer S
Thank you for your recent stay at de Russie Orange. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Management and staff at de Russie pride themselves on our level of service and hospitality. I am surprised by your comment that you did not receive any hospitality from us. Our manager went out of his way to provide you with fine service - he made you dinner reservations, gave you free wine vouchers, took photos for you and went through guide books with you and high lighted the local map for you of the best points of interest in Orange. If this is your idea of no hospitality then I'm not sure what more we could have done for you. I hope that next time you visit Orange you have a more enjoyable stay. Best wishes, Joanne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

a really lovely place. Had a nice room on top floor, beautifully presented. King bed, so soft. Clean modern big bathroom. Bigger soap squares!
Had small built in kitchen and a complimentary breakfast pack was included of muesli, juice, toast and jam - nicely presented too. Table available to eat at, a comfy chair for reading etc. some PAY TV stations too. Highly recommended. It does perplex me though with 'green' policies places have that my towel gets replaced even when I am happy to hang it and keep it for next day. Here, even the soap bars were taken away along with half used shampoo/ conditioner and replaced with new. Seems a little bit extravagant for the policy.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieOJ, General Manager at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Debi F

Thank you for your recent stay at de Russie Orange and for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have taken on board your comments in regard to our "green policy" and will advise housekeeping of our changes. I wish you all the best for the festive season. Kind regards, Joanne,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliantly located just off the main street. Very good quality apartments with all the trimmings. Breakfast packs are brilliant (love the Hanks jam!), the L' occitane toiletries are gorgeous! I only wish there was a chain on the door up high to stop our toddler from letting himself out the apartment door all the time !

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieOJ, General Manager at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Carolyn K

Thank you for your review of de Russie Suites Orange. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at de Russie and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast package as well as the room amenities. Management wish you and your family a lovely festive season. Kind regards, Joanne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

De Russie Suites provided our group of four friends a very comfortable, pleasant place to stay in Orange. It is very convenient to Summer Street, the main street in beautiful country town of Orange, so it was easy to access excellent restaurants and shopping. Breakfast for each person comes in a small bag with quality ingredients and even different kinds of bread. We had a 3 bedroom suite which was pleasantly decorated. Staff were very helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieOJ, General Manager at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear weaver555

Thank you for your recent stay at de Russie Suites, Orange. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with your group of friends and that you enjoyed some of the beautiful restaurants that Orange has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Orange. Best wishes, Joanne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meimei2010
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. Loved the bathroom facilities; spacious shower, comfortable spa bath. The fridge and mini bar was well stocked and complimentary breakfast was great. The only downside was the smaller than expected pool.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to de Russie Suites Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Russie Suites Orange

Address: 72 Hill Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — de Russie Suites Orange 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
de Russie Suites Orange is a boutique, self-contained apartment hotel that has a unique combination of urban style and a sprinkling of Tuscany and Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your de Russie Suites Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Russie Suites Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.