We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Russie Suites Orange

Save Saved
You added de Russie Suites Orange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
de Russie Suites Orange
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   72 Hill Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Orange B&B and Inns
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

I often stay at the de Russie and always enjoy my stay. This hotel understands the importance of looking after return customers and personalizing service. My preferred pillow type is always waiting in my room, and the giant choc chip cookie on the divinely comfortable bed goes down a treat. check in is also a breeze and the staff very professional and attentive.

This time I chose to stay in a junior spa suite which has a separate lounge area from the bedroom. My only gripe would be the shower over bath however at least it has a glass screen and not a dreadful shower curtain like the 5 star rated sydney intercontinental hotel.
A wall mounted makeup/shaving mirror in the bathroom would also be a valuable addition as the lighting in the bathroom is not great and it is difficult to lean over the basin.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieHQ, Owner at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
It's always nice to see a review from one of our regular guests, at de Russie Hotels we aim to look after any special needs our guests have or request. We are in the process of upgrading our showers and we will look into the make up/shaving mirrors. At de Russie Hotels we only like to have small properties, not large ones, this way we can ensure that we look after all our guests to the best of our ability, and with a personal touch. We look forward to welcoming you back again to de Russie Suites Orange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
74
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I were upgraded from a one room to a three room apartment from the amazing staff who were as slick and professional as Sydney CBD staff. The complimentary breakfast was all local produce. Every part of the apartment was spotless, particulary the bathroom and kitchen. Wouldn't mind coming back and trying the Devonshire tea near the fireplace in winter.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieHQ, Owner at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of local produce and of our property. We serve Hi-tea's during the winter months so you'll have to come back and experience a beautiful Orange winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Having stayed a few times on business trips and used both the Suites and the standard rooms the furnishings in the motel really are quite outstanding and well above the norm for country motels. A restaurant is not available and when you have travelled in cold weather having to go out again into the cold is a disadvantage. A basic (healthy) preare-your-own toast/ breakfast is supplied but a bacon and eggs breakfast can be a bit of a treat if you travel a lot - you have to go out again! Beds are very, very comfortable. Showers, whilst probably environmentally considerate, in a cold place like Orange are really quite second rate. Standard rooms have showers in the bath and water spreads over the floor. Towels are thinning with constant usage.Reception staff whilst friendly and welcoming at reception seem reluctant to 'go the extra mile' for small requests with an attitude of our rules are rules...no compromise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieHQ, Owner at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate receiving reviews such as yours as all reviews are important and valuable tools for us.
As a point of clarification, we don't supply a full breakfast or restaurant as many motels do because we are a self-contained apartment property. However, we do have listed in our compendium a shopping list for the purpose of those that do like to cook meals. The showers we are looking into, but it is important that we are environmentally responsible especially given that Orange does experience level 5 water restrictions, and that its not a matter of being second rate.
One service we at de Russie Hotels are extremely proud of is that all our team members will go above and beyond what guests request, obviously there may be requests that cant be met due to the relevant situation or circumstance.
We at de Russie Hotels aim to please all our guests, it is what we do and try to do well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed overnight for business.
Right in the heart of Orange near shops & restaurants however quietly located in a street off the main road with its own car park (a little small & you might find yourself parking on the street)
Extremely polite, helpful & smiling staff in what can only be described as a modern kick ar se looking reception area.
Generous size room with a LCD TV (good size) on the wall with austar/foxtel, A hidden kitchen behind foldaway doors with everything you need like in an apartment. A complimentay continental breakfast with different types of slice bread, butter, jams, coffee & imported italian juice.
Complimentary water which went straight into the bar fridge & a giant size choc chip cookie waiting for me on the bed.
The bathroom was small however I travel for business and do not mind, however I am not a fan of the shower in the bathtub setup.
Internet is really cheap 4hours for $13 + 1HR free. I think it was $20 for 12hours.

I am from Sydney and would expect to pay double this amount anywhere near home for what you get at De Russie Suites.

WILL BE RETURNING AS LONG AS THE PRICE REMAINS REASONABLE.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieHQ, Owner at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay at de Russie Suites Orange.
I note your comment regarding the carparking, and for future reference we do have additional parking at the rear of the property for the main car park overflow.
I also note that you aren't a fan of shower/bath's, we do have suites that have a separate shower and separate bath.
Once again thank you for your comments, we are very proud of our property and look forward to welcoming you back when next in Orange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The De Russie Suites is by far the best accommodation available within Orange. Situated within the heart of Orange the hotel is only a few mins walk away from a variety of shops and restaurants, but in a nice quiet spot away from the main road.

A beautifully stylised building you are immediately impressed by the elegant and chic reception area. The staff are both professional and very friendly, and willing to help in any way possible including identifying some of the best restaurants Orange has to offer. Furthermore, access from the reception and/or car park is easy and simple and the staff are too happy to help where appropriate.

The rooms are an adequate size and are excellently presented, with exceptionally comfortable beds, cable LCD (Small selection of channels), and a complete mini-kitchen hidden away behind a wall of fold back wooden (average chip-board) doors. Warm ambient lighting (down lighting and lamps), coupled with fashionable pictures really added to the cosy feel of the room. It's not the best view in the world from the window (overlooks some other buildings) but this is not an issue.

The bathroom is, while a little small, contemporary and stylish; the L'Occitane bath/shower products and scented sticks are a nice touch. However, the shower is both weak (pressure) and old, while the sink offers no room to place toiletries and takes a while to empty!

Each day a nicely presented light fresh continental breakfast (breads, jam, juice and freshly ground coffee) is available, but a little sparse compared to other hotels who offer such a service!

Overall, I would defiantly recommend De Russie Suites to any traveller. It is, without question, positioned in the premium class of available accommodation across the state, let alone Orange. However, when placed in this class there are a few niggles (see above) which can leave the visitor just a little disappointed. These can, I hope, be easily addressed by the management in time. Now, if they could just find room for a restaurant, then I think we've almost found perfection!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieHQ, Owner at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. It is only through comments positive and negative can we improve.
With regards to the tv channels, we are currently in the process of upgrading our tv service to full digital that will give all free to air channels as well as the austar. The showers we will look into as we haven't had any other issues reported to date. We are pleased you enjoyed our complimentary light breakfast, a light start to the day with compliments of us.
Orange has many restaurants on offer that our team can book on your behalf and recommend.
Once again thank you for your wonderful review and comments, we look forward to seeing you once again at de Russie Suites Orange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

After staying in roughly 30 hotels over the preceding 5 months, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. From the serene, stylish reception area to the Mint Blue doors, from the generous room sizes tastefully and thoughtfully appointed room complete with luxurious bed- I was in heaven. I had a day off and didn't see the reason to leave, I had my complimentary breakfast sitting on my benchtop!

What a gorgeous place! Do not hesitate to book here

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieHQ, Owner at de Russie Suites Orange, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to see that our guests enjoy what we provide and are so proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our room was lovelly and the reception lady welcoming. The little things like the toiletries, coffee & tea etc were all of the highest quality. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room a perfect temperature for the cold Orange night. The complimentary (huge) cookie and bottled water were just extra touches that made the stay memorable.
The breakfast was simple and light, but for the price of the room we didn't expect more.
Great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to de Russie Suites Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Russie Suites Orange

Address: 72 Hill Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — de Russie Suites Orange 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
de Russie Suites Orange is a boutique, self-contained apartment hotel that has a unique combination of urban style and a sprinkling of Tuscany and Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your de Russie Suites Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Russie Suites Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.