We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid City and Middle of the road...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mid City Motor Lodge

Mid City Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mid City Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Mid City Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   245 Lords Place, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BONUS FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mid City and Middle of the road...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a few days here but not by choice. Orange is particularly expensive for motels and the Mid City just happened to be that little bit cheaper than most. Its occupancy levels were very high both on weekends and mid week so they are obviously satisfying demand.

The location is excellent. Bang smack in the middle of Orange City so walking distance to everything and a pleasant park across the road.

The rooms are what you would expect. Just middle of the road. Some bathrooms had been modernised but otherwise just a standard motel room. No complaints but definitely nothing to get excited about. The rooms were very clean. Flat screen TV with some Foxtel channels. Free Wifi.

Would I stay here again? Yes, primarily due to its location and competitive costs.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Peter for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you did decide to stay with us and enjoy our unique location in the heart of the Orange CBD. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with free off-street parking, free Foxtel, free Wi-Fi and a licensed restaurant on premises. We do hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed there 3nights and no wifi for guest but shame if the price without wifi other motels in orange had free FREE wifi and not this one you need a wifi hotspot for guest to enjoy more of there stay you would expect wifi for the price were paying

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Hi Michael. Wifi is now available for guests free of charge!
Unfortunately, it was not available in your room during your stay, however, if you did require Wi-Fi, we were able to offer it free, but only in the reception area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We unfortunately stayed on Bathurst Race Weekend. The neighbours, basically half the motel, were noisy and not asked to keep the noise down - calling out from the top floor balcony to friends downstairs etc. The room was small - like a European hotel room, small bathroom, thin walls, noisy showers, once the hot water came through. The motel has recently been refurnished, which they did well with what they had to work with, however the curtains on the windows didn't stop much light at all and we actually checked that you couldn't see into the room when the light was turned on inside. The shower in the room above was so noisy, it sounded like there was someone outside hosing their car clean. The room was way over priced, because of race weekend - $20 more than where we had stayed two nights previously and that motel included breakfast. This motel is right in the heart of Orange, so well located but ............

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Anne Bromley. We are sorry you felt you did not have a pleasant stay with us on the weekend of the Bathurst Car Races and wanted to voice this through Tripadvisor and not directly with motel management. Yes the motel was full with race goers (as well as all the other accommodation providers in the town & region) and some were a bit rowdy when they returned from the race, however, management did contact these guests on several occasions to advise them to quieten in respect of other guests. The Superior Room you booked is one of our refurbished rooms and the problem with the curtains is currently under review and will be rectified shortly once they have been manufactured. Demand does affect pricing and you did book through a booking website who unfortunately also add their commission and charges. We advise always to contact accommodation providers directly as you will find the majority of time it will be cheaper. The other local motel you stayed with the night prior is located on the outskirts of Orange and was probably lower in price due to it not being peak car race time. Again, we wish to highlight we are a 3 star motel offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation located in the heart of Orange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this motel for many years for the Bathurst weekend.
Every year this motel goes downhill further, we had to pay up front for three days accommodation, and our friends were charged more for the same room type. Built in 1956, no large amount of money spent since then. There were dubious stains in the carpet, paint peeling from walls and ceilings and other guests making a racket and smoking outside rooms, we also saw several cockroaches. Prices up $10.00 per night per year without even a lick of paint.
Staff did not step outside of office all weekend. Not worth the ridiculously high price for a ridiculously cheap room. A sad way to go for Australia's first drive in motel. Best remedy for this place would be a bulldozer, do not stay here!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Andrew Campbell. Its unfortunate that you felt the need to air any grievances you may feel you have via Tripadvisor and not directly with the motel. I have checked this years and your previous years stays with us during the Bathurst Car Race period and you have paid the same price every year with no increase. I have also checked the other bookings in the same room type and cannot see where a guest has paid more. If they made their booking via a booking website or had extra guests in their room, they may have paid slightly more. Unfortunately, there were several rooms nearby to you that were making a disturbance which management on several occasions contacted to request they quieten in respect of other guests. This by no means gives reason to make false accusations. We agree the motel is 3 star and the pricing reflects this. If you wanted 4/5 star accommodation this should have been sought at alternate accommodation providers whom are not in the CBD area which would have charged far more. We offer clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation in the heart of Orange. Demand at busy times regrettably forces prices higher. Our staff are friendly and helpful and we are sorry that a staff member didn't visit you each day to see if you were content and happy. Best of luck to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Overall quiet good although rooms are small they are ideal for my needs, friendly service , room had been newly refurbed bathroom was very clean
I'll be back for sure
Photos are total misrepresentation of what I seen

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
We thank you very much for your honest and positive review of The Midcity Motor Lodge. We hope to see you again when you return to visit beautiful Orange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This motel was a surprise package. We were not too sure of what we may find at such a cheap overnight rate. Plenty of parking, a couple of blocks to the centre of Orange. The room although small was very clean and the beds very comfortable with lovely crisp white sheets. The shower is over the bath and the bathroom is serviceable - nothing spectacular.The only down side would be the teeny tiny TV! We were alos surprised at the lack of traffic noise. The reception staff were more than helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: upstairs would be a struggle if you were elderly or had children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are a 3 star motel which is ideally located in the centre of the Orange CBD offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation. Please note, if a downstairs room is required this can be arranged at time of booking. I am delighted to advise the staff of your positive comments regarding their friendliness and kind hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This motel in the centre of town offers an extremely comfortable bed in a very small room. Bathroom was clean, TV very small. Usual tea-making facilities and a toaster. Quite ok for an overnight stay whilst travelling.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymotorlodge, Front Office Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you Di & Tony for your review. You have highlighted our excellent location and the clean, affordable accommodation that we offer for a 3 star motel. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mid City Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motor Lodge

Address: 245 Lords Place, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mid City Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midcity Motor Lodge is ideally located in the heart of the Orange CBD. It offers quiet, comfortable and affordable accommodation in an off-street location with free off-street parking available. The motel has an on-site restaurant open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday and room service breakfast is available every morning from 6.00Am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mid City Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid City Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.