We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value... but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Newcastle

Ibis Budget Newcastle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Newcastle to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Newcastle
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Thomas Street, Corner of Link And Lakes Roads, Newcastle, New South Wales 2287, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
15
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When I arrived at my room I found there were no towels in my room I had to ask at the front desk whether towels actually come with the room. It was advertised that if you paid an extra $7.00 you can have a breakfast of cereal toast and some of the local produce. There was no local produce! I could get a better meal at McDonalds for the same price. Then during my stay I returned to my room to find all my belongings gone. I went to the reception desk and said that all my stuff had been taken, the guy replyed that there had been a mix up as I had made my initial booking on line for 1 night and booked for another. At first my stuff could not be located. I was not contacted to ask why may stuff was still in the room. If you ask for a contact number why do you not use it! My stuff was finally located and packet haphazardly by one of your staff members which I find very impersonal. I know you are a budget hotel but I now know why paying a good price for a room is very important. Lesson learned. I would not recommend nor would I ever stay in one of your hotels ever again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location for us because we had arrangements to meet people at the Entertainment Complex. Only stayed one night on way to job up-state. Other than being in a spot where got a lot of traffic noise think this one is very good value overall. Much less than a major hotel but still offers all the basics and then some, and it has employees who are helpful.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable, but can be a little noisy if facing the main road. There is plenty of parking and most points of interest are only a short drive away. My only complaint would be the lack of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have a problem with stairs, ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good price and location. Bit noisy as on a busy corner; my window did not seal properly (worn out locking mechanism) so noise entered the room; as did smoke from the smokers below. Room basic but fine. Cleaning hit and miss; dead cockroach, old battery and cigarette butt behind the door of the room. QA not what it could be. I would stay again but realise I only get what I pay for! Nice that they have a small kitchen downstairs where there is tea/milk/microwave.The guy on check-in was great. But he obviously did not know that 204 had problems with the window; nor did I at first! I guess when the horse/room is that cheap you do need to look it in the mouth! Cleaning not thorough. The old ac unit was noisy; that disguised the street noise; so in the balance not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was glad to find accommodation here at the time of the Rolling Stones Hunter gig, however our stay was disappointing from start to finish. When we arrived just prior to check-in opening at midday, there was nobody in attendance at about 5 minutes to midday and the automated check-in was not functional, despite the large queue of people forming because the place was fully booked. The room itself was ok, though the bathroom is the stock standard and not the best, but you can live with it for a night. There was quite a lot of noise from the stairs and reception filtering down the corridor to our ground floor room, not to mention passing traffic, but worst of all many of us returned from the gig to find 3 massive utility trucks (perhaps the smoking workers mentioned by Graham W.) blocking about 10 parking spaces, so we (being the first of a few) had to improvise a spot in the now full carpark, while many others had to park on the street (and there is only a small back street that can be parked on actually near the place as it's on the corner of 2 major roads). When this was mentioned to reception (staff were friendly in the afternoon, happily assisting with a TV remote control issue and providing an electric kettle) it was met with a fairly indifferent response. Also, the fact that the kitchen (with communal fridges and tea making facilities, although the urn was empty when I tried to make a cuppa after arrival) is closed between 10pm and 7am is most inconvenient - for those having a late night (or checking in when unattended).

Room Tip: Away from reception and stairs, possibly not on the ground floor and as far away from the busy roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Good place for 1 night if your on a tight budget. Rooms are super small but modern and clean. Close to town and we felt safe. Washroom was almost laughable as it feels like a port a loo toilet/shower. Very mini but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Newcastle

Address: 3-5 Thomas Street, Corner of Link And Lakes Roads, Newcastle, New South Wales 2287, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Newcastle 1*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This great IBIS budget hotel offers easy access to Newcastle University and Newcastle Entertainment Centre and much more. The hotel has been recently undergone a full renovation. Hotel check in is available 24 hours. Reception is open from 7am to 10am and from midday to 10pm. The Hotel offer 6 room configurations;- Queen Room (sleeps 2)- Queen with Bunk (sleeps 3) - King Room (sleeps 2)- Twin Room (sleeps 2)- Twin with Bunk (sleeps 3)- Disability Access (sleeps 4)A continental buffet breakfast is available from 7am - 10am daily for only $7 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.