We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, beyond good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Monkeys Cafe

3 Monkeys Cafe
131 Darby Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia
(02) 4926 3779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 355 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“So good, beyond good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Food was amazing. Taste was exceptional, portions were large. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Maybe price was a little higher then elsewhere but food was well worth it. Juice was also excellent. Atmosphere was great although get there early as when we left at 9am people were starting to queue.Highly recommended for breakfast

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The bubble & squeak is the best. We went twice for breakfast but I couldn't go past having this yummy dish. Everything on the menu is fantastic, so much to choose from, you need to have one of their great coffees while deciding. Fabulous service, smiling faces on all the staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“open after renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Brilliant staff, they are very helpful and friendly. Nice cakes and good coffee. Missed it while it was shut - had to use a poorer quality neighbour

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict overlooking the Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant had quiet nice food and I really enjoyed the smoothies and the Eggs Benedict. Although the later was a little rich I still really enjoyed it. The restaurant also had healthy options and the option to sit outside.

The atmosphere was relaxing. I liked sitting upstairs on the balcony overlooking the street. I caught up with my sister here whilst we were both in Newcastle.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My god that pizza is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Yep, the pizza is great. The food servings are pretty massive too and they're not too expensive compared to other restaurants/café's on Darby St.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Monkeys Cafe also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to 3 Monkeys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Monkeys Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.