We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
59 James St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Newcastle B&B and Inns
NSW Mid North Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night while in Newcastle for a Pink concert at the Entertainment Centre.
This is a fabulous little B & B and I recommend it to any couple wanting to stay somewhere a bit special in Newcastle. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
Kris is a welcoming but not overbearing host who made up a cheese platter for us in the evening and then cooked a sensational breakfast for us in the morning.
Within easy walking distance of restaurants in Beaumont Street.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
28
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Kris is a lovely host with great knowledge of Newcastle and Chaucer Palms is a nice B&B style with a modern twist. My wife and I paid $220 for one night which was good value for money in the end. Kris offers a beer & wine + cheese platter for guests between 5-6pm which went down nicely in the huge spa bath! The bed was comfy and the breakfast huge!

If you want something central this may be a little too far out (around 30 minute walk to Newcastle city) but there is a free bus running to the city, beach and Fort so not a big issue if you dont' want to walk really.

Please don't go to the curry restaurant called Indian Raj on Beaumont St, the worst curry I've ever had no question...

Tim

  • Liked — Comfort, service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We only stayed overnight but I would have loved to stay longer. Chaucer Palms had the modern feel of a hotel with the homeliness of a B&B. Our hosts were attentive but not invasive. The room was excellent, with a great two person spa. Breakfast was delicious. Loved staying here and will stay here again when next in Newcastle. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Excellent service & beautiful room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

It was perfect! I had never stayed in a B&B before and was a little hesitant to try, but this place was amazing! It was modern and soooooo comfy! It really was like staying at a 5 star hotel (but better!) because the service was friendly and they went out of their way to help us when we needed it. We got fully cooked breakfasts every morning which was fantastic, as well as champers and a plater of cheese, crackers, nuts, fruit and choccies when we arrived! Not to mention the room had a spa and there was a selection of DVDs and CDs to borrow. Hands down the BEST place I have EVER stayed.

  • Liked — How modern and clean the rooms were and the free brekkie of course!
  • Disliked — probably the location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

We don't normally stay in B&Bs, but this place is different. It is more like a 4 room hotel. Agree with everything in the previous post, really good value and the breakfast was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Modern decor
  • Disliked — Noyhing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We looked up Wotif for some last minute accommodation for Newcastle. A lot of the hotels were booked out, so we went for a B&B. Chaucers is a brand new (built 2006) B&B situated near Beaumont St and not far from town (2km). It has amazing modern appliances, with plasma TV, DVD player, fantastic spa bath (so big that two people can fit in it and not even touch!!) and lively decor.

Kris cooks an amazing breakfast (better choices than most restaurants would offer) and you can help yourself to plunger coffee etc anytime of day. With only 4 king rooms, it does not get too noisy.

Rooms are all $190 per room on weekends (cheaper during the week apparently). Most of the cheaper hotels were about this price (including 2/3 star) and they didn't include breakfast.

We had a perfect night and will likely go back to Newcastle just to stay at Chaucers again!!

  • Liked — The modern feel of the place
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 59 James St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.