We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
59 James St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Top notch b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Wow...what a great little find this is. It looks brand spanking new but it's actually a few years old. It's sparkling clean and very well set out. The owner is a delight who could not have been more welcoming or friendly. The room was lovely with big spa bath (which I enjoyed). And the bed was really plush and comfortable. Breakfast was a delicious continental style breakfast made specially and beautifully presented. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
28
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here because it was so close to the Entertainment Centre and were very pleasantly surprised at the modern clean comfortable accomodation! Julie is a very friendly host and served a lovely breakfast! I would definately stay there again if I went to another show at the Entertainment Centre!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Chaucer Palms B & B. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. It was conveniently located and only a short walk to restaurants & cafes in Hamilton and only a short drive to the Newcastle Entertainment Centre, where we saw a show. Our room was spotlessly clean, modernly furnished and very comfortable. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Chaucer Palms for only one night - and will stay there again on future trips to Newcastle. The B&B is as stylish and comfortable as its website indicates. Julie was a friendly and professional host, with just the right mix. She was also tremendously accommodating about various changes in our travel plan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Modern utilitarian premises, with paper thin walls, noisy key entry, nosy hostess and a bed that was akin to sleeping on a rock. We selected this B & B based on Trip Advisor reviews. We especially noted the comments about the quality of the bed. Not so. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Guests do like privacy and the '20 question' approach by the staff from the time we phoned to book, at the time of arrival and at breakfast the next morning was intrusive and inappropriate. For example, at the time of booking, being asked the reason why we are coming to the area, is most inappropriate. On arrival, being disturbed when in the room and asked again what we would be doing that night , is again inappropriate. In the morning, the constant chatter at us over breakfast was quite frankly appalling. The setting does not lend itself to a quiet weekend away. The facilities are modern, but don't quite work. It's neither comfortable nor romantic. If you want privacy and peace and a good nights sleep then this is not the venue for you. On a positive note, it is within walking distance of Beaumont St.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaucerPalms, Manager at Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
> 2,000 stays and 99.9% guest satisfaction. Unfortunately it seems we can't please everyone, however we do try very hard to please all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Chaucer Palms was a great stay for my husband and I this week. We stayed in number 1 which was great for us, level, no stairs, free parking and just around the corner from beaumont st, restaurants . Julie and Peter fabulous hosts, greeted us with wine and cheese and lovely conversation. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious. I loved the easy access to the dining -lounge room and we had friends meet us there which was convenient. This was a beautiful modern, large room with huge ensuite. Very safe and comfortable here. We would definetly recommend this place to stay. We have stayed in hotels and other bed and breakfasts in Newcastle as our son is at uni and college here but this surpasses them all . Will be back here for all our future stays in Newcastle.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Friendly owners, looked after our every needs. Room and bathroom were large and bright with natural light, comfortable and very clean . Breakfast was great and for dinner just a short walk to nearby cafes and restaurants with a wide selection of tastes. You must stay to appreciate the joy of this B & B

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 59 James St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.