We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamilton Heritage breakfast is fabulous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Heritage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Heritage B&B to your Saves list
Hamilton Heritage B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   178 Denison Street, Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hamilton Heritage breakfast is fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed as a group of three girlfriends attending a party in Newcastle. It's a true BnB, the hosts are friendly and accommodating, the garden is interesting and the breakfast is fabulous! Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

It's hard enough to find dog friendly accommodation at the best of times, let alone accommodation that allows you to leave your dog in the fully fenced yard and encourages you to bring your dog into your room to sleep! We stayed for one night when we had a function in Newcastle and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The hosts are lovely and friendly and cook a mean breakfast!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were on our way south thru Newcastle, travelling with our 2 dogs, & needed just an overnite stay. Being an ex-motelier, the whole idea of pet friendly accommodation was rather foreign to me.... & I must admit, it IS a little strange being in someone's beloved heritage home, not only with a big boisterous young dog, but also a very old little one that you're worried may have a 'senior moment' & soil somewhere!!! What a lovely experience the whole stay was for us 'tho....a beautiful old home full of antiques/collectables & family memories.... We went to Beaumont St for Thai take-away, then dined in the cosy kitchen/family area with a glass of wine & felt very relaxed!!....Comfy lace canopied queen bed (the Kimberly room), en-suite bathroom.... charming gardens....fantastic breakfast..... absolutely delightful & friendly hosts.....we could have stayed & chatted for hours if we'd had the time!!!!! Both of the other guest rooms were occupied on the nite of our stay.... & each were travelling with 2 dogs, which we met....If you like a clinically clean minimalist hotel room, devoid of any charm or atmosphere, then this is not the place for you..... For us, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, & we'll be recommending it to all our pet loving friends & family!!!!
PS.... lf you're reading this Laraine & Colin, we did buy the caravan....it was everything we hoped for & more!!!! cheers to you both!!!!

Room Tip: We found the Kimberly room was very comfortable for us....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was not a planned stay, but after reading a quick review, I knew we couldn't go wrong.
Its a gorgeous heritage home, the rooms were clean and tidy and Colin & Laraine treated us and our Jack Russell like family. Nothing was a problem for them, they were very helpful with information of place to go whilst in the area. They made us a sumptious breakfast too. Our little dog is very spoilt and has the run of our own house. So it was nice to find a place where he would feel at home too. They have a gorgeous enclosed garden area out the back and he was able to sleep in our room in his own bed. Thanks so much for your hospitality. I would definitely recommend this place whether you have a dog or not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very helpful and pleasant hosts. Stayed a Friday night with our 2 children. Well located for restaurant strip. We had the family suite. Double bed was uncomfortable and could do with new matress, flannelette sheets on the bed -'too well washed', annoying light outside window on all night. The bathroom was large and clean with plenty of towels. The bunk room was very small and cold- no rails on top bunk or ladder but step ladder provided. The bedrooms look due for a revamp and new bed linen. Breakfast was generous and served in a small kitchen nook - perhaps it would be more atmospheric to use the dining room. Pets are welcome - so perfect for travelers with pets- if you don't have pets think again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a great place to stay, very close to beaumont street. Definately a home away from home. The most comfortable bed, the accommodation was clean, very nice and helpful hosts. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, NSW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Found this B&B after a search for reasonably priced accommodation as I was going to be staying in Newcastle on my own for the weekend to watch my daughter play Basketball. I wanted somewhere to come back to and feel safe but also to be able to relax and take some time out for myself. The accommodation was just beautiful - I loved the heritage feel and the gardens were just lovely. The breakfast menu was extensive and I enjoyed being able to sleep in, get ready and be waited on with a delicious meal. I felt very relaxed and everything I needed was provided. Lovely to chat with the host Colin. Would love to come for a visit one day in the future and bring hubby along next time. Thanks again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Kimberley room and there was lots of light which I love. Loved the fact that the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Heritage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Heritage B&B

Address: 178 Denison Street, Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Heritage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton Heritage B & B Newcastle's Family and Pet Friendly B&B, can be found situated on Historic Cameron Hill in tranquil leafy surroundings an early 1900 Californian brick and stucco bungalow with Stained glass Edwardian Casement windows original high ornate ceilings, large airy rooms working polished timber fireplaces. Short walk to Beaumont street famous for its smorgasbord of Restaurants, Cafes, pubs and shopping something for everyone, the Entertainment Centre is very close a leisurely stroll to the Premier Hotel for a delicious dinner and then short walk to the Centre taking out the hassle of driving and finding parking. Also short walking distance is the Tennis, Football, Hockey fields and just round the corner is the Broadmeadow Race Course. We are 7 km drive to the CBD of Newcastle Harbour and Beaches especially for the fur children Horseshoe Beach on the Harbour side of Nobby's headland with plenty of free parking.Our three en suited rooms are also air conditioned with comfortable beds so we are told by our guests. Breakfast of choice and time is served in the Breakfast room overlooking the private leafy garden which is high fenced and gated for the safety of both toddlers and fur children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and T4B so you can book your Hamilton Heritage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Heritage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.