We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Smelly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novocastrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Novocastrian to your Saves list
Hotel Novocastrian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Parnell Place | Newcastle East, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Old and Smelly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The photos of the rooms listed on the Novocastrian website are very misleading.
The room I stayed in was terrible, there were holes in the wall and the room had a funky stale cigarette smell.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
8
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here in March 2010, having stayed at the Travelodge in February. Yes this place has seen better days but it is being updated & I would ignore all those reviews critical of this place written 12 months ago or more. The fact that it is being renovated shows that the owners are constantly improving it. It is slightly cheaper than the Travelodge doesn’t include buffet breakfast in accommodation fee but is much quieter.

The best thing about this place is its quiet location. You’re not going to have any thru traffic or morons hooning around in their hot cars in the middle of the night. We booked online & were checked in midafternoon by a less than enthusiastic receptionist. The room was quiet & clean with a view of the ocean. Some rooms would view the city, the harbor or back yards as well, depending which side of the building you’re on. If you want a harbor or ocean view ring & request it before checking in. This place represents good value for location, quietness, & cleanliness. If you want 5 star amenities for 3 star prices don’t come here but go & pay more for that elsewhere.

We did not try the dining room so we are not able to comment on their meals, but there are numerous places to eat in Darby St & other places in close proximity.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We found the room well-appointed, clean and nothing was lacking in terms of towels, bathroom gear, dryer etc. If you want an ocean view (between houses below) make sure you're on the third floor. On the town side, which gives wide views of town, harbour and hinterland, choose second or third floor. The staff are perfectly pleasant and we had secure parking down below. The hotel is not shabby, run-down or dirty as previous reviewers have claimed -- clearly the renovations have been well done, some time ago. It's pleasant to walk down to Nobby's beach from the hotel, then round the point, past Noah's on the Beach and back. At Noah's we were offered a more expensive room but with no view -- this is a much better option for the price. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on food, except that the room-service breakfast was on time and excellent. For lunch, try Rock Salt at the Marina - magic.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

I recently stayed at the novocastrian motel for 2 nights (sat/sun) . The rooms were clean and tidy(this is a priority for me) and i had a 2nd floor room with an ocean view. I was able to park my car securely in the underground area which i was pleased with as i had been notified that this is not always possible and may have to park on the street as it is a first come first served basis regarding the secured parking. The location of the motel is excellent...easy walking distance to beaches and main street. Overall i was satisfied with my stay, however i did encounter a couple of negatives. I found a couple of members of staff to be a little abrupt and unwelcoming.One gentleman in particular who was behind the counter at reception (as i was checking out) completely ignored me as i was standing there waiting to settle my account....he then proceeded to serve another customer who had just walked in the front door and did not acknowledge me at all...very rude. I also ordered room service (from the restaurant) ..i was extremely disappointed with the meal and did not eat it. (i am a chef). Despite the negatives i still enjoyed my stay and had a great time in newcastle and what it has to offer.Suggest that some staff should work on their customer service skills.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some staff attitudes and the inhouse restaurant food
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

There's something just creepy and wrong about this hotel. It's a little like time forgot it, or if your like retro it's like going back to 1982. The hotel's position is good if you like to be in the quieter end of town near the beach and baths. The views are quite good as well, and there is free parking and free wireless Internet (albeit at fairly slow speeds). The big problem are the rooms which are really tired, old, smelly. The general hotel ambience is also so muted and dreary that it's barely got a pulse! There is a dining room/restaurant but along with the rest of the hotel it didn't look particularly enticing - I opted for take-out KFC if that's any indication. The staff were quite friendly and I believe that there are some renovations occurring at the moment. In my view the hotel needs more of a renovation it needs an extreme make-over!

P.S. There was also a very strong gas smell in the public areas - not sure if this was due to the renovations but it was also quite disturbing.

  • Liked — Cheapish price, free-parking, position close to the beach.
  • Disliked — Smelly, dirty room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We were referred to Novacastrian by Noahs on the Beach as they were booked out.
The accommodation was so so but the meals were very subsdandard and the management left a lot to be desired were found to be rude and incompitent and staff have walked out.
Would not recomend this Hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

Booked via wotif, this place is awful.

We had booked for 2 nights at a busy time of year, As soon as we saw the room I attempted to get a refund, no such luck! We stayed one night and forfeited the money for the second.

The bathroom was mouldy, and the tiles had been painted over with housepaint and a rough brush. Very ugly!

Ocean views? Sure, about a 2 metre gap between rusty iron roofs, and views into dirty backyards. The room smelt musty and had aging bedspreads and a saggy bed.

The hotel appeared to be almost empty! Wonder why!

  • Liked — ZERO!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novocastrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novocastrian

Address: 21 Parnell Place | Newcastle East, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novocastrian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Novocastrian, located in Newcastle's beautiful east end. Staying with us you'll be close to everything Newcastle has to offer. Walking distance to two stunning beaches, the foreshore and boardwalk restaurants, and the CBD. We are also within easy reach of Lake Macquarie or the Hunter Region's renowned vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Novocastrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novocastrian Hotel Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novocastrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.