We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, perfect for need, indulgent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Executive Inn to your Saves list
The Executive Inn
10 Rugby Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Central Coast, NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected, perfect for need, indulgent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed at the Executive Inn to be closer to Newcastle Airport for an early flight. We unfortunately did not get to see or use our balcony as we checked in at night/left early in the morning but the room was great for an overnight stay, it was a basic room but just felt really luxurious and you would not even know it was attached to a Leagues club/were in the suburbs of Newcastle. We just wanted a room for the night and expected a basic motel room but were really impressed with the high standard.

Bathroom was fantastic - walk in shower and spa was seperate, opposite to the room. A pull back wooden partition meant you could even watch tv from the spa - nice indulgence!

Staff were fantastic, would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Seperate shower to spa, marble in bathroom, clean, simple layout
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    70
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
35
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We were so lucky to find this special place. Its in a small leafy suburb of Newcastle so away for traffic and noise. The rooms were stunning - a huge double sized spa with a full marble bathroom. No you don't have to stand over the shower here - its at the other side of the huge bathroom.

How great was breakfast - there are these pools in the middle of the hotel and our room looked straight over them. Then when you have the all you can eat and more breakfast you look from the other side.

We had dinner in the Asian restaurant which was great for the first night but on the Saturday night we had fine dining with geridon dessert - it was in Hobarts and the staff are just great.

Can't wait for our next anniversary to go back.....make sure you get the Ultimate Indulgence package...you get a whole farm of strawberries.

  • Liked — The romantic feel of the room - private but able to open the doors to talk
  • Disliked — Nothing we loved it
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

We found the accommodation to be of a good standard. Room had plenty of storage space, a good tea and coffee set up and bathroom had a large bath tub and good appointments. The room sleeps up to four people, two in a queen bed and two in a day/nighter divan bed. Each sleepling area can be closed off and each has own TV. Ate breakfast here on two mornings but was fairly disaapointed each time as felt rushed and also the selection for the full breakfast is fairly ordinary. Plenty of good eateries close by and offer much better food. Hotel is attached to the Wests Club so try your luck on the Pokies. Excellent entertainment offered and some is free. Cheap eats available in the club. The whole complex is non smoking but we did have a room with balcony but unfortunately no outdoor furniture and no ash tray. Plenty of smoking areas available in the Club. We would probably go back again.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We only stayed here for the one night. We chose the Executive Inn as it was close to the soccer fields that we had to get to in the morning for our sons grand final. So for us the location was perfect. It is also within walking distance to the Newcastle Knights and the Newcastle Jets playing fields, which a few in our group found very handy as the parking can get very busy there.
Our room had 2 queen beds, although I seriously think they were doubles, not much room to move about, a decent bathroom with toilet, bath which had a shower over it. Be very careful on the wet tiles in the bathroom, our youngest went head first into the bath (he's 6) I did the splits and our daughter slipped walking into the bathroom, Our room also had a balcony whereas our friends did not. Our room was non smoking, but there were no ash trays provided for smoking out on the balcony either.
Our 3 children loved the pools, theres a top pool and a bottom pool, one is heated and one also has a ledge that you can walk out on before a big drop, now my daughter being a kid just jumped in from the side and went to swim out under water and swam right into the ledge resulting in a grazed lip, nose and banged up teeth. They also have a small spa, that can get quite crowded. The area was very nice, with sunloungers and it really did remind me of a tropical holiday....
Remember if you are a NRMA member you'll get a discount on room rates. Overall we'd stay here again, it wasn't flash but the pool area made up for it.
Rene

  • Liked — our room had a balcony
  • Disliked — very slippery tiles when wet
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Address: 10 Rugby Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Executive Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.