We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Executive Inn to your Saves list
The Executive Inn
10 Rugby Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed in May for 2 nights as we were visiting relatives in lambton. The hotel is just average, looks quite modern on the outside but the rooms are quite dated along with the facilities, bathroom was just unappealing. The elevator to the carpark had the feel that it would break down any minute. Room service for just desserts took almost an hour to come up to room, puzzled as it was all ice cream and a pre made brownie? Anyway for a quick stay and a reasonable price it will get you out of trouble but if you are used to big city hotels this may leave you feeling a bit disappointed. Staff friendly, and yes the $200 deposit as other reviewers have mentioned did take about 6 days to be returned, no big deal but they should advise on check in that this occurs.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the newer section as the older section is quite dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    70
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
35
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel in New Lambton, Newcastle. I found the room clean and comfortable and had everything we required. We had a spa bath in our room which was an added bonus, and they also supplied beautiful Moton Brown ammenites (very nice). I found the staff extremely friendly on check in and checkout. We also went to the Wests club adjoined to the hotel which was equally as friendly and had some wonderful reasonably priced cafes, coffee shops, and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel if in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I loved The Executive Inn I visited in May 2014. I have stayed there before a few times as it is close to Lizottes restaurant when I visit Newcastle. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. I only stayed one night but was allowed to access Balance health Club on the day I arrived and on the day I left. It felt like a Health retreat with a swim in the pool and spa too. Wish time had have allowed a free Bike hire included too but there is so much to do in Newcastle...My only gripe is the $200 taken out of my account. I do not hold a credit card. Only a debit card and often only have enough funds in it for the week. I was assured the money would not be taken out but yes it does affect the balance in my account as it is just a debit card and I could easily been overdrawn. Be aware...It also takes all week to get it back . The management should give the option of a cash payment and drivers licence sight. Otherwise, excellent service and nil complaints :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Have been staying there twice a year for last 6 years.

Agree with one other review that it takes many days to get the $200 deposit re-credited to your a/c.

I offered to pay cash for the deposit and they would not accept it. They claimed that they aimed to be as much cash free as possible.
Find this very hard to accept in a club that has at least 6-7 restaurants, countless bars and 100's of poker machines.
This year we have moved the whole reunion to a city restaurant and most of us who used to stay at the Executive are now staying at the highly rated Junction Hotel which is also 20% cheaper.
Executive Hotel is like a rabbit warren, with small rooms out dated furniture and tiny TV's.
Most of us attending the reunion used to play for Wests Rugby League) -attached to the Executive, but have decided the Hotel and the attached club are much too greedy.
How many establishments can afford to lose patronage of 25 -30 people twice a year for accommodation, dining and drinks ?
Much too expensive for what is offered!

Room Tip: stayed there 10 times so far- never found one that over impressed me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have stayed here on several occasions and it is always reliable. If it was not for work paying I would probably stay closer to Newcastle and in a place that offers better value.
The rooms are always clean and quiet but don't represent value.
I would agree that some staff need some lessons in proper hospitality etiquette.
Parking on a Saturday night can be crowded and often I have had to park on the street which is not ideal.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beware people, they charge your credit card $200 upon check-in and it takes for ever for you to get the money back. Rooms can be pretty small and dark, and the TV screen in the main bedroom is so small that is basically impossible to watch! Foxtel channels do not work.
Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed for a night for a sporting event, was really pleasantly surprised. Big room, clean, modern bathroom, everything you would need and expect.

Hotel is attached to the club, lots of food options, most of it deep fried!! There isn't much else in the area it's ok for one night. There is also a gym in the club.

We were on 3rd floor, only issue is the extractor fans pumped the smell of the greasy food into the room, it surprisingly didn't bother me much.

Nice resort style room too, get a poolside room, much better view!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Address: 10 Rugby Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Executive Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.