We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for encouraging young environmentalists!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Wetlands Centre

Hunter Wetlands Centre
1 Wetlands Place, Newcastle, New South Wales 2307, Australia
02 49516466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 things to do in Newcastle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunter Wetlands Centre is a Ramsar listed wetlands of international importance located only 10 mins from the heart of Newcastle. An amazing story of community spirit that has rehabilitated a degraded wetlands, dumpsite and abandoned sporting fields to a site of stunning beauty and home to over 240 species of birdlife. A great place for families and kids with walking trails, guided walks, reptile displays and talks, discovery zone and playground, canoe hire and tours, function rooms, dipnetting, Segway tours and cafe with beautiful views. Open 7 days.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for encouraging young environmentalists!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Have been several times with variety of age groups. It is a great place to take young kids and encourage their interest in nature. Adults appreciate the environmental aspects and the many opportunities for photography.
With an area for picnics, restaurant on the grounds and a great adventure playground you can stay all day.
Additional costs for canoe hire, Segway rides.
With the change of seasons the activities and bird sightings change too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Kids love coming here, but honestly, can you put some larger signs up for those ignorant people who keep feeding horrible white bread to the ducks? They are making them sick!!! Just go and buy some food from the canteen and help the reserve as well as the animals.
Love this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterWetlands, Ecotourism Manager at Hunter Wetlands Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for posting - glad you love our bird life as much as we do! I'm not sure if you have confused us with another site (who do sell specialised bird feed- unfortunately there are also many people who take it on themselves to feed their birds from their picnic baskets). The Hunter Wetlands have very strict guidelines about what is fed to our wildlife. We do a bird feeding everyday at 10.30 for our resident Magpie Geese (who are the only wild birds given supplementary food on our site) but we do not sell any bird food from our cafe. You are absolutely correct - bread is junk food for birds! We try to keep our experience as 'wild' as possible and let nature do it's thing. Glad to hear you're interested in educating others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Close to where we used to live. A great day out especially with kids. Great food and plenty to do. Good long walks and plenty to see - wildlife and natural wetland scenery.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Segway tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited the wetlands on the way through Newcastle and did the Segway tour on a whim. It was great! !! Myself and my 11 year old daughter picked it up quickly. The wetlands themselves where interesting , the guide was slightly knowledgeable on the nature. Saw some interesting wildlife and had no stacks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wetlands experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

great place to relax with a picnic, to teach the kids about local birdlife, or just to wander around and soak up the peace and quiet. There is a café on site, however it can lean toward the more expensive side and gets very busy so bookings are recommended. There's also a National Parks and Wildlife Office situated on the grounds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Wetlands Centre also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Wetlands Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Wetlands Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.