We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Newcastle to your Saves list
Travelodge Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Sydney
1 review
“Excellent option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Modern, clean and tidy 4th floor room. Staff were all fine. Good selections for the hot buffet and continental breakfast. Great value for money
No issues with any component of the stay. What you'd expect for a well managed hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Adam P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon!

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    151
    130
    38
    26
See reviews for
67
139
31
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

very quite hotel, large rooms, very clean,
extremely comfortable bed.
in a central location to Newcastle City. Great for Business.
However not to close to Restaurants, as most of Newcastle after dark in the city is closed.
Restaurants are mainly now open on the harbour side (Honeysuckle Drive & Wharf RD), North of the train line, (crossing the train line can be difficult, and only in a few locations).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear jimmyWollongong,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our clean, comfortable rooms. We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle for your next business trip!

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamvale
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel was good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was central to shopping and nightlife. Food outlets were also close at hand. The rooms were quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Darren S,

Thank you for posting your positive feedback following your recent stay. It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed our great value, comfortable rooms & central location. I will be sure to let the team know that you appreciated their friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon!

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Newcastle Travelodge is in a great location with plenty of parking. Biggest drawback were the terrible showers and the buffet breakfast.

Beds were comfortable and the rooms were quite spacious. The showers have poor pressure and are cramped over a bath. The buffet breakfast was either ok or terrible, depending upon what time you chose to show up. For over half an hour all of the hot food options were depleted and not replenished. One morning there was eggs, bacon, sausages and hash browns but no tomatoes or mushrooms on the menu - who has a cooked breakfast without tomatoes?

Breakfast starts at about 6.30am but when we enquired reception told us 7am. The written material in our rooms said 6am and 6.30am - so turn up when you are ready. Staff were friendly and amenable and the rooms were clean. Public areas look a little tired and are ready for a renovation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Cazza339,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I'm disappointed to hear that breakfast was not up to our usual standard. We aim to ensure the buffet is fully stocked at all times, and I'm very sorry that we have let you down on this occasion. I appreciate your feedback and will ensure this is followed up with our kitchen team so that we can continue to improve our service. We are currently working on some exciting changes for the lobby & bar areas with work to commence in the near future. We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle again soon to see the changes!

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked a king room and got two single beds pushed together!! Very small room, bathroom very cramped!
Parking cost $15 and we were charged for the room being a king room when it was two single beds! Very disappointing!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Samlilly89,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your feedback and I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with the bedding in your room. Regarding the king bed, the mattresses are not just pushed together; they are zipped together so there’s no gap between them. This is common in many hotels, and you shouldn’t feel this join when you are in bed. We do also have standard king beds which we endeavour to allocate if requested. If you do choose to stay with us again please let us know this is your preference at the time of your booking. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle again soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Basic hotel, a little tired - staff friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed and reasonably spacious room by today's standards. Not close to the better restaurants and local attractions. Not bad value cost wise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Robin J,

Thanks for posting your review of our hotel, I appreciate the time you have taken to do so. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our great value, comfortable rooms & the service provided by our friendly team. We do have some exciting upgrades planned for the hotel in the coming months- we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon to view the changes!

Kind regards,


Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Good value for money, especially if you get a rate that includes parking and breakfast. Rooms are a reasonable size, and were clean. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel so you don't face the main road. The buffet breakfast offers up sufficient choices if you are only staying a few days. We encountered the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Its a short 10-15 minute walk to the restaurants and cafes on the harbour front and there is a nice green space park across the road near the mall. Its not 5 star but it offered better value than some of the more expensive hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear fifofum,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed our great value, comfortable rooms & the friendly service provided by our team! We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.