We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filled with Love for Cafe Heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Heart

Cafe Heart
575 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 355 Restaurants in Newcastle
Restaurant details
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Filled with Love for Cafe Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place lives up to its name and the amazing reviews! We were staying next door at the Quest and visited a few times - had the Baked Avocado for brunch which was devine and the vegetable stack was also exemplary! Great coffee and the staff were always friendly. Best of all, when we'd packed up all our groceries and realised we were short of oil & brown sugar for cooking, we asked downstairs at Cafe Heart and they were happy to give us some! All in all, a wonderful spot! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This cafe has a lovely feel to it. The owners have done a great job with the decor. It's bright, sunny & really pretty inside.

My husband had the big breakfast. It was not only "big" but also delicious. Definitely one of the best big breakfast's in town. I had pancakes which were also lovely. It's obvious the food is prepared by chefs who enjoy what they do. Coffee was really good, hot chocolate was fine.

Service was great, all the staff were very friendly.

Overall a lovely breakfast. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Where do I begin.... My Husband and I have been here about 6-8 times since it opened and would be in everyday if we could. We usually have the breakfast menu and I have tried the Salmon Blini, French toast, Big Breakfast and Pancakes. All are mouthwatering. The Chai Latte is the best I have tasted in Newcastle too. The staff are absolutly gorgeous and make us feel like family everytime we come in. The decor and atmosphere is fabulous for any occasion, sometimes we bring our 2 year old and he plays happily in the kids corner (which is a must for any parent wanting to enjoy a meal) and sometimes its just us for a romantic date. If you are considering eating here for breaky, lunch or dinner I promise you wont be dissapointed and Cafe Heart will become one of your favourtie places :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Cafe Heart, all heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great customer service, excellent variety of food/meals, caters for vegetarians also. Awesome serving size, fantastic coffee!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This is the best breaky I've ever had not only in Newy but EVERYWHERE! Value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Situated under the Quality hotel apartments on hunter street and Wow what can I say. We stumbled across this cute little place by word of mouth and now we want to go here every chance we get. They have by far the best coffee in town and the best BIGGEST breaky I have ever tasted or seen. See my picture! The avocado baked eggs are to die for! And the potato gratin yummmyyyyy! The atmosphere is really quirky and cute too with buntings and a vintage bike in the window. Can't wait to go back. This breaky cost $17.50-What a bargain!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Heart also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Cafe Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Heart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.