We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christ Church Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christ Church Cathedral

Christ Church Cathedral
52 Church Street, Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 attractions in Newcastle
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christ Church Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Cathedral is a beautiful building and well worth a visit. Looking at the different memorials is very interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It has ample free parking and is a beautiful building located on a hill with excellent views of the city

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Historic Beautiful Cathederal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I enjoyed the self guided tour of the interior . Magnificent building with beautiful stained glass windows . Unfortunately on the day the tower was closed .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Totally impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A very grand and beautiful cathedral standing on top of a hill. My husband spotted it by chance as he saw an outstanding landmark over the city skyline. Very happy that we went to search for it and had the chance to actually visit it. I loved the beautiful stain glass and i especially admired the lovely kneeling pillows.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Building and Great Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As you can see I travel allot and I love my Churches and this is nice buiding with classical Architcture, you must appreciate it more by going inside to see the true beauty of this church

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Cathedral also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Christ Church Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christ Church Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Christ Church Cathedral to your Saves list