We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in newcastle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Penny Black

One Penny Black
196 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 3169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 351 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Newcastle
1 review
“Best coffee in newcastle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love this place. Friendly service, they remembered me from the first time i came here. By far the BEST coffee in Newcastle, and delicious specials for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee, cheery service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stop in for coffee quite often, always great coffee and quick, cheery service. Usually willing to whip up something for you even when they're past closing time or the kitchen is closed. Nice atmosphere and decor!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been here a few times, since i don't drink coffee i get their toasted sandwiches & sweets (they're nothing to write home about). The prices are a bit high and since they don't have any real cooking facilities don't expect much from the menu. The people go with who do drink coffee complain that the coffee is too small for the price and the hot chocolate taste bad...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great friendly cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been going here for a year now. My favorite cafe in Newcastle. The coffee is always good and consistent. If you love a good coffee, then this is your place. Rotating single origin blends can also be an excellent choice. The food is good too, but not a lot of choice if you are after a big menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“always good, never fails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

friendly and good coffee. i have only been there for coffees but i have had them lots and theres a reason they are always busy - good coffee

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Penny Black also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to One Penny Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Penny Black, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.