We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Newcastle to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times over the past few years, and this hotel is getting better every time. Not because the rooms are improving or the food is getting better, but the staff are what make this place. They are cheerful in the morning, helpful all day. Several of the staff went out of their way to find out my name, and they remembered it each time they saw me. They don't have a club lounge, having one would improve this hotel. Book a room with a Harbour view and balcony, the sea breeze is glorious on a warm day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
BigRuss1213, thank you for your review and your feedback,

Our focus is continual improvement, so it's heartening to read your lovely comments regarding our staff and service! If you come on a Friday or Saturday night, you can enjoy complimentary canapes and music by JJ King in the lobby lounge area. This is between 6:30 and 9:30, and our equivalent of a club lounge.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    205
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
193
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights mid-week and it was absolutely amazing. The staff were attentive and always accommodating to our needs, particularly with needing the car to be parked or brought around for us several times throughout the day. The room was great with lovely views of the working harbour; lots of tugs, ships and fishing trawlers passing us by.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as there are so many options nearby and lots of different cuisines to try, but there were many guests eating at the hotel restaurant and most seemed quite pleased.
Barely a thing to fault really. It was quite hot through out the day and subsequently overnight so we thought we'd try and get a fresh sea breeze to cool down the room with the windows open but it didn't work while having the curtains closed as well so for the last two nights we had the have the aircon on...mostly because of the thick heavy doona.
A great stay nonetheless and we shall return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
DSA_84, thank you for your lovely review!

Staying for a few nights is certainly the best way to make the most of the hotel services, as well as our Newcastle CBD location! It's great to hear that you enjoyed watching the exciting harbour from your room.

For your next stay, I would suggest trying a balcony upgrade for your room - for $25 you can upgrade to a room with doors that open out onto a balcony. Perfect to get some of the sea breeze into your suite!

If you would like to book this for your next stay, please contact the hotel directly and we will get you the best rate, as well as organise the balcony room.


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The only disappointing thing about staying here is that we were only here for 1 night, would love to have stayed longer.
We stayed in a king spa suite and had a small balcony overlooking the harbour. The room itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The only thing that would have made it nicer is if the balcony was a little bigger, unfortunately it is standing room only and it would have been good to have table and chairs so you can sit outside and enjoy the view with a glass of wine.
Room service was delicious, fast and hot! Nothing worse than getting room service and by the time your food gets to you it's on the warm side, definitely no problem with this hotel, the food arrived hot as if the kitchen was next door.
Bed is comfortable, lounge room, dining area and kitchenette all quite spacious. Bathroom was lovely with a huge spa bath.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Shaz_2206, thank you for your wonderful review!

In room dining is a focus area of ours, so it's great to read your comments of appreciation of a hot, well timed and great tasting meal.


We will see you next time, hopefully for a longer stay!

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights in a Harbour view room. Staff were all very helpful and happy. Room was very clean and tidy and nicely situated over looking the harbour, a word to light sleepers - the container ships and tugs sound their horns whenever they are entering the harbour, day or night and are quite loud. Room contains a kitchenette which would be handy except that all the draws/cupboards are empty - no cutlery or plates/bowls, no point really.
Good location, near museums, promenade walk and many very nice restaurants close by, including the hotel restaurant SeaSalt. Pool looked inviting and was well used by hotel guests.
Our overall experience was pleasant under trying circumstances (attending a family funeral).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Helj17, thank you for your review!

I am pleased to let you know that our hotel does offer cutlery, crockery and even a microwave to use during your stay. For these items, as well as any extra items you may need, all you need to do is ask reception and it will be organised straight away.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our helpful service, Seasalt restaurant offerings and prime location on Newcastle harbour - I hope this brought some comfort to you and your husband during a difficult time.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great location, very helpfully staff, flexible around check out good breakfast. I was very impressed with the overall ambience and location coupled with a country style welcome and service generally. All staff must be well trained to be very polite and accommodating. Good breakfast selection with healthy options. Great place to access great walks, bars and restaurants and close in to the city but located on the old wharf, once used for commercial purposes. It was great to be able to look out over the port ans see ships, fishing boats, ferries and pilot boats. The only negative if you are a light sleeper is the horn of the trains in the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: A room on the harbour side is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your review Englishaussie,

Our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible - I'm so glad to hear that our flexibility and service made this happen!

Your recommendation of a Harbourview Suite is certainly a great suggestion - though I can understand the one downside of being on a working harbour is the occasional ship going past!


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This has to be the best hotel I have been to in years the staff at the hotel did way beyond what normal hotel staff do the room was stylish and so clean room service is a must we will be back if we are back up this way

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Sam19700, thank you for your wonderful review!

We appreciate your comments and will pass your feedback onto staff. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great value for money stay. The hotel is perfectly positioned on the ocean front and perfect for a brisk walk up and down the harbour to see the big and small ships.

The rooms are excellent with free WiFi, full size fridges and a kitchen sink! The views from the rooms are just wonderful - waking up to that blue sky and harbour view is pretty unbeatable.

The hotel has a lovely pool, and fee use of the University gym next door which is very well equipped.

We stayed just two nights, but found it to be really welcoming, clean and well equipped for business and pleasure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you Henry, for your wonderful review.

We aim to be a hotel that exceeds the needs of each guest - whether they be staying for work or leisure. It was great to see your feedback that we achieved both of these during your stay.


We look forward to welcoming you next time!

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.