We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you are gluten free” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Newcastle to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Do not stay here if you are gluten free”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Despite explaining that I require a gluten free diet while they assured me the meal they provided was indeed just that half way through my meal the staff returned to confess they had given me the wrong meal. I was sick all the next day. They also lost our umbrella and started to argue with us when they couldn't find it - there were no hotel umbrella's available either to help us reach out car - what a joke. When we arrived for our function no one had any idea where we should go and didn't even begin to see if they could find out. A staff member was also seen making faces about a customer that was complaining about the hotel room service. This hotel has no idea about customer service!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    205
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
193
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed for two nights while attending Neil Diamond in the Hunter Valley. Initially we were worried about how far away we were from the Hunter, but Newcastle ended up being a perfect venue. The hotel was great, fantastic service. Lauren, in particular on the front desk was a great help. She recommended a lovely restaurant for us, and arranged the hire car for the Saturday night. We loved the hotel's proximity to bars and restaurants. The foreshore has been beautifully developed. Awesome breakfast too!!
Our suite was a good size, nice having a separate lounge and bedroom. The only downside was waiting over an hour on Saturday night for our room service order. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We spent the night in Newcastle to attend the wedding of a friend. Check-in and check out were prompt and efficient. We had a harbour view room which had a pleasant view, we only took this room as we were underquoted when making an enquiry, there is no way we would have paid full price for this room. Bathroom was OK, very clean, but certainly not 4.5 star (there was a flimsy white shower curtain for the shower over the bath!). Bedroom was acceptable size and bed was comfortable. Kitchenette was practical, as was the sitting room, but once again not 4.5 star. Valet parking was overpriced for this location

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihg123, The Team, Crowne Plaza Newcastle at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear stolistyler,

Thank you very much for your comments. They are greatly appreciated and we are glad that you liked the view from our harbourfront hotel. We would like re-assure that we are deluxe hotel that is regularly audited and reviewed by Crowne Plaza's globally renowned standards and other local bodies.

We would really appreciate any more feedback about your experience,

kindest,

The Team
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights (Fri/Sat) on a LastMinute.com.au deal which was for a harbour suite room with breakfast included. The room was great with a lovely view out over the water; we watched the tugs and cruise liners come and go. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of variety. The staff were friendly and we were thrilled to find a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room after we'd notified at booking we were there for our wedding anniversary. The room was clean and tidy. The location is great; the foreshore has been nicely developed with lots of places to wander along and eat. We had delicious take-away both nights; once from Lanna Thai and once from Blue Water Pizza, both within walking distance. There is street parking outside the hotel which is only metered between 9am-5pm daily so if you arrive late, like we did, and need to be out after breakfast you can essentially park for free. We will certainly stay here again if we are visiting Newcastle in the future.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Crowne last weekend for our 10 year anniversary. We booked it on Wotif (secret hotel) so got it at a great price! Our suite was lovely, well layed out, two TV's, very comfortable bed/pillows and nice & quiet. Bathroom was good, but a bigger bath would have been nice. Location is great - the forefront is full of lovely restaurants (we ate at Larna Thai which was yummy) and walking along the wharf & taking in the sights is a great way to relax. We skiipped the hotel breakfast and ate at Jordon's Organic Cafe (Wharf Road) which was beautiful. Overall a great experience at the Crowne Plaza - although we found the parking very expensive, so we parked at Harbour Park Secure Parking (Argyle St) which was $11 for overnight (a few minutes walk along Wharf Rd).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I loved the rooms except no balcony - so to enjoy any outdoor space - which is worth the walk, I had to go past reception.
After staying here for business we had drinks and stayed again as a business party for 2010.
We traveled outdoors to another restaurant so I cannot comment on the restaurant in house.
I will stay here again as this seems to be one of the best hotels in Newcastle with walking distance to other areas to enjoy.
Water views are available.
Taxis can be easily booked from the hotel.
Staff are somewhat friendly.
Room was very clean and the bathroom was outstanding.
Suites have separate lounge to close off from main bedroom.
Parking is nearby for a cheap rate and with walking distance back to the front of the hotel. You can have your car parked for you for a higher fee. I did not try this when I first traveled, however on the return trip we used the hotel parking and found it very handy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Great spot. Because we had a pod on the roof of our vehicle, we parked in a Wilson's car park in the same street as the hotel. It was $8.00 per 24 hours. Was easy enough. The car park is beside a beautiful cafe which we did not go in. The hotel charges $25.00 for a full valet service.

DINING OUT: there are many options if you still have room to eat after the having the hotel's breakfast! One of the best I've had. You can walk along the 'board walk' towards the beach. We had takeaway fish and chips one night for $11.00 each in the park. That's at Scratchley's. On Monday nights you can get the delicious pizza special at BLUE WATER PIZZA on the wharf. We are NOT pizza lovers at all but these are gourmet pizzas and make sure you order one of their salads. Warning, they are big serves!

BIKE RIDING: We took our bikes and rode around the coast. Also, definitely worth catching the ferry for about $2.30 over to Stockton. Bikes permitted. The ride over there is lovely. There's a nice cafe too for lunch. Ferry leaves every 20 mins or so. Goes all day and into the night.

SHOPPING: When you exit the hotel lobby, walk straight ahead about 5 mins, over the train line, and you will be smack in the middle of town. We caught a bus to KOTARA Westfield, a huge shopping complex. It was about 15 mins away. If you are a shopper, you won't be disappointed!

GENERAL OVERVIEW: This is a very nice hotel to stay in. Make sure you get the breakfast included! Our suite was fabulous. It had two t.v.s. Beds were great. Kitchenette adequate. We liked being able to close off the bedroom from the lounge area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.