We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value Indian in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Raj

Indiana Raj
100-102 Beaumont St | Hamilton, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
(02)4961 3862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 389 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.agfg.com.au/guide/nsw/newcastle-hunter/newcastle-area/hamilton/restaurants-dining/indiana-raj
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best value Indian in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I've dined here many times both in the restaurant and takeaway and I can honestly say its always been d-lish!!! Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bargain food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a Indian street side restaurant, with choices of a dozen or more curries served with rice. Nothing more noteworthy than any other Indian restaurant of its type, but with good hearty fare for $9 or so, I ate there happily, and will again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcsatle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Excellent authentic Indian dishes. Lamb Korma best I've tasted. Service above average. Don't miss the Chicken Tikka.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Long wait, the dish I had was awful Giid naan.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Long waits, the dish I got ( can't remember the name) was a eggplant dried fried something, it was so terrible and had big clumps if chilly in there it made me almost vomit. I complained and had to wait along time for them to make another one for me to take out. The next day I had it for lunch and only got half through it, just awful. Buy maybe that's just my taste buds! Some people come in and left before us and we where still waiting. How ever my wife enjoyed her tea. But was frustrated by the wait.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food - Erratic Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I have visited Indiana Raj around 10 times in the past few years. The service can be slow and the staff border on bizarre at times (such as giving us a lecture about the price of lamb before we had ordered).

We are never certain whether we will be served poppadums and water on arrival or not. The staff can be very quick and attentive, or show far more interest in gossiping with each other than serving anyone.

The food has been very good every time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Raj also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Hamilton, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Indiana Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.