We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork knuckle challenge awaits, not for the meek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oma's Kitchen

Oma's Kitchen
16 Watt Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
4927 5151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 355 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pork knuckle challenge awaits, not for the meek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my pork knuckle and whoa, its pretty massive. You must order one day in advance to ensure you get the famous pork knuckle but please make the effort to do this as its so delicious. The other meals I've had there have been fairly standard. Desserts and service both good, owners are there serving etc. I will return mainly for the pork knuckle and i have had several conversations about this one meal and recommended it. Try it out for yourself p.s. bring game face

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dining experience,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dined out here last Saturday night. Our group of 4 didn't have a booking, and although the restaurant was quite busy, the very hospitable and friendly staff found us a table inside where we enjoyed some pre dinner German beers. Food was delicious and reasonably priced and the coffee and shortbread were a perfect end to a great meal. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst food I've ever eaten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stopped in here this morning (5.7.2013) my way to work. Took more then 20 min to cook bacon an eggs(take away). Because of the wait time for breakfast, despite being their only customer at 8:30, I ran late for work and when I finally got a chance to eat it, I discovered that the bacon was burnt to the point of being in edible. Toast was under done and the tomato( wasn't even meant to part of the dish) was seasoned with some sort of horrible pre-mixed herbs high in tarragon and they too where also Burnt. The only saving grave was the fact that the poached eggs were cooked reasonably well. I will never go back and will never recommend them to anyone. As an ex-chef. I was hugely disappointed that they can get the simplest of things so wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
“Oma's Kitchen, fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The best German food you could ever eat in a Restaurant. Very relaxed, I took my Mum and Dad there for a night out, the food just tasted like mums cooking, genuine German food.When you go there ask for the warm red wine it is great on a cold night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Both the meal and the coffee were disappointing. The schnitzels tasted acidic and the children refused to eat theirs,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oma's Kitchen also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Oma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oma's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.