I booked a High Tea to celebrate my daughter's birthday. We have experienced a few of these and had been told this was a very good one. We arrived about 8 minutes early but our table wasn't ready so wandered the street and came back. That's ok on a Saturday afternoon.The place was packed and very noisy and we were taken to the small back room with a table against the wall. We were out with the supplies and in between the front rooms and kitchen resulting in the staff constantly dashing back and forth. My daughter was bumped constantly and the table shook as they passed. A full glass of champagne was accidentally dropped right next to us resulting in a wet floor, that although was wiped down, consistently caused trouble for anyone who walked through either to the kitchen or en route to the toilets. One waitress fell and many others slipped, staff and patrons. We also had a constant stream of people looking for the loo. The food was fantastic and nicely presented and champagne lovely, however it took 20 minutes and 3 waitresses before we received our tea order. I don't think I remember anyone smiling until I paid the bill. Too crowded, too chaotic, unsmiling underdressed stressed staff, beautiful food. It was a relief to get out into the street which seemed like an oasis of calm after being inside. So disappointing especially for a special event.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May 27, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience despite enjoying the High Tea food. You visited during an extremely busy time, which was the cause of the issues you mentioned. We apologise that we weren't able to seat you in a more comfortable area of the restaurant. Many smaller groups request to sit in that section, but for your group it was probably a little too cramped. Regarding the wait for your tea order, I'm unsure of whether you mean before the order was taken or before it arrived. If it was before it was taken, this would have been because you had the champagne on arrival so we don't usually offer the other drinks until later (most people prefer them with the second course). If it was a wait to receive your order I apologise that we kept you waiting. It was very busy at the time, which means it will take a little longer than usual for drinks or food to come out. Most would say that a 20-minute wait on a busy weekend in a Darby St restaurant is still quite reasonable however, depending on what the order was and the number of items ordered of course. Should you choose to visit again, please let us know when booking and we'll make sure that you are seated comfortably in the front section of the restaurant and that you are very well looked after. Kind Regards, the Coco Monde team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.