We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functional hotel by the coast.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Shortland Esplanade and Zaara St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 Dining Credit
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“functional hotel by the coast.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked the hotel as it was the only place left when we arrived to watch a Lions tour game at the Hunter stadium.

Functional sort of place. Girls at the desk were very pleasant and helpful. Room was a bit dated and the view was of the ocean which, for the short time were in the room, was very pleasant.

Tea making was the only additional facility we enjoyed and we left to have breakfast in town.

Not the sort of place I would want to spend too much time however we had no problems during our mini stay and of course the price was higher than normal due to there being an event close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoahsGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your time in Newcastle and hope you are able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    126
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
45
97
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel!

The rooms are dated circa 1980s, the car park rooms need double glazed windows for the 5am garbage collection. Staff disinterested. Time to replace the mattresses :-(
Good location, shame about the price...cheaper to stay in NYC...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoahsGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback, I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at the hotel. We are committed to ongoing improvement and have taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room we had consisted of a double bed in an average sized room on the beach side.The cleanliness of the room and the hotel was spotless. The fittings and decor were nice and the hotel and rooms obviously maintained. We found some of the staff somewhat abrupt bordering on rudeness and others were very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant, Jonah's, was exquisite but not cheap. The beach view from our room was magnificent. It is not every hotel where you can watch a whale going past your window. The room was quiet even with the window open and we enjoyed being lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. Overall, we would stay again.

Room Tip: Get the beach side rooms. Even the lower one are have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoahsGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your constructive comments. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed the view and easy walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. Hotel is a bit dated and could do with a makeover however it was clean. I thought it was a bit expensive considering no breakfast, no free wi fi, although that appeared to be the going rate for the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoahsGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, we are very proud of our cleanliness standards at the hotel and we have just started providing complimentary WIFI for inhouse guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Attended an event at the hotel and decided to stay . Wife also impressed.
The decor was reminiscent of top late 80's hotels - a style that I personally enjoyed.
Staff were helpful and service was good.
The breakfasts in the Restaurant were good as were the teas and lunches at the event I attended.
Our lagoon view room had a good outlook - unfortunately we couldn't use the balcony as these are being upgraded to modern safety requirements.
The rooms were well appointed and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean View near the top floor would have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Two adults and one child stayed on the second floor in an ocean view. One double/one single bed. This is not a hotel I would normally stay in. I did not realise how old it is. Very dated. Old style bathroom, beds, bedspreads so old fashioned. The bed was not comfortable. Very, very small rooms. We paid $239 with no extras. Hello this is Newcastle. This rate is ridiculous. If you read my reviews we stay at true 5 star hotels in many countries so I know what to expect from a hotel this is a 3 star at best. We were only here for 1 night, thank goodness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were booked here for a family wedding to find the room rate, which is comparable with a Sydney city Centre hotel providing leisure facilities, free WiFi and breakfast, included a view of the car park, no breakfast, a broken information service, a bar that closes at 10.30 and particularly pokey rooms. The rooms we found to be clean and included a well stocked mini bar, unfortunately this was kept in a noisy fridge which kept waking us up. We inquired about room rates on arrival because the wedding party had booked 10 but were told this could not be discussed and the reception intimated this was not negotiable. Unfortunately this has left a very bitter taste in our mouths of Newcastle value and hospitality in an otherwise pretty part of Australia. My advise to everyone would be stay somewhere else and travel to the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Address: Cnr Shortland Esplanade and Zaara St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Quality Hotel Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.