We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, fabulous service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mason

Mason
Shop 3/35 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
(02) 4926 1014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 358 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I guess the header puts it in a nutshell....when the food and service are as good as this then there's no disputing you've had a fine dining experience. The atmosphere is relaxed and we were made to feel very welcomed by staff. The food was great value for money and we all left feeling satisfied. It was unanimous ....we will all be going back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    43
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quality restaurant, which still has that casual feel, go here. My wife and I had our 10th anniversary dinner there, and it was special.

The food was excellent, good selection of wine, as well as fantastic service.

We were so impressed that we booked again for a larger group!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“special in Newcastle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

fabulous food. Good service. A special place for a celebration dinner. this place has a growing and deserved reputation. The menu changes regaulry and offers something a little different for Newcastle.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Getting better all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely couple, excellent young chef, really lovely decor, a beautiful place to enjoy an excellent meal!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to try partly because of a recent write up in The Herald, saying chef had worked at Ledbury in Chelsea UK. As we have visited there, we had high expectations of Masons and we were not disappointed. Gnocchi to die for! good service in spotless venue. Malt ice cream was superb dessert.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.