We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW...Excellent !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merewether Surfhouse

Merewether Surfhouse
Henderson Parade, Newcastle, New South Wales NSW 2291, Australia
+61 02 4918 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 389 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
NSW
1 review
“WOW...Excellent !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a beautiful place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. A couple of friends and I thought that we would spoil ourselves with lunch at the Surfhouse restaurant.....and spoilt we were. The service was faultless with the Manager even visting our table a number of times to check that we were happy with the service and meal. We all had different meals and all were scrumptious to say the least...If I wasnt in a public place I would have licked my plate for sure. The wine was icey cold and the views absolutely amazing, I could have easily stayed there all afternoon. Have already booked a table for my next visit in November. AAA+ to the Manager and staff. Thanks for a great dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    130
    64
    49
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“We love Merewethether Surfhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We love every part of Merewether Surfhouse and dine often. Best place for Brekkie in the morning, be it a busy weekend or a quiet weekday, never get tiered of that view. Friendly service and vibrant atmosphere.love the top bar for pre dinner drinks before heading into the Restaurant for dinner. The best place in Newcastle. :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice food and a good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We came for breakfast on a busy Saturday morning, and despite the huge numbers of people, we were still able to get a table and have our meals brought to us very quickly, which was a nice surprise. There was a good selection of breakfast choices and coffees on the menu, and all reasonably priced. The outdoor seating was great, allowing us to look out over the ocean, and watch all the people walking their dogs. The food was quite tasty, but the cold pre-packaged drinks were very expensive ($6 for a small bottle of orange juice!). Overall it was a nice experience, and we'll be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stunning view and stunning venue. Fair food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate at the restaurant for dinner one night with about 10 people. The view is stunning! The food service was slow and waiters weren't very attentive. All the staff were lovely but maybe they just didn't have enough waiters for how busy they were that night. I hate having to wait and flag down a waiter to order drinks. The food was beautifully presented. Taste was fine but nothing I would rave about. The venue gets very noisy when it starts filling up, and makes it hard to have a conversation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The upper deck at the Merewther Surfhouse is the most wonderful place for a drink, a snack and to gaze at the view. It is like being on board a ship with nothing but sea if you are seated looking due East and its so easy to slip into a trance just watching the water and the ships riding at anchor on the horizon.Whales passing close by are a bonus at migration time.
Food is pleasant and reasonable, drinks are.... but the setting is simply amazing -It would be my local if I lived in Newcastle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merewether Surfhouse also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Merewether Surfhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merewether Surfhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.