We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful honest food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Luna

Verde Luna
115 Tudor Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
(02) 4961 3949
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 352 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went to verde luna for Valentines Day and we were so impressed with the quality of food and how reasonable priced it was. We started with a buscetta which was divine then both had a veal dish and omg it was amazing, so tender and full of flavour. We each enjoyed two glassses of red wine and final bill came to $90. Will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

i love this place. food is always beautiful, staff are very friendly. it is such a good value for money and everyone is very welcoming. we ordered some different pastas and a pizza. both tasted AMAZING! we also tried the tiramisu and the salted caramel mousse. it does get busy so it is good to come early, but even when it is busy the service is still great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good, honest food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place doesn't pretend to be anything fancy. The menu offered a wide variety to choose from. Service was friendly and efficient. Our meals were generous serves and full of flavour. Prices did seem to be a bit on the high side, similar to prices in fine dining venues.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very reliable for a good dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Meals are always excellent & hot. Service is good although if very busy service can be a little slow.Friendly staff are always obliging.Great family atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great service and good food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Visited here for the first time by recommendation of a friend, wasn't disappointed.
Service right from the start was excellent, made to feel welcome and very relaxed form the onset.
Considering it was a Saturday night and the place was packed, the service and food did not suffer and was punctual on both counts.
Pizza was great and we will be back to tick off something else from the menu!!
Buon Appetito!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Luna also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Verde Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verde Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.