We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a pub, you can't go wrong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunnyside Tavern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunnyside Tavern to your Saves list
The Sunnyside Tavern
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   20 Broadmeadow Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales NSW 2303, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #9 of 30 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“For a pub, you can't go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Quite new, very clean rooms with nice decor. Whilst this is an old fashioned pub, the whole top floor has been completely renovated. The food in the restaurant is top notch and the staff are really friendly and very good.

There was a guitarist in the main bar one night and whilst she didn't keep me awake, friends in another room did have trouble sleeping. Personally, I think it was worth it to listen to great live music in an old fashioned pub.

If I venture back to Newcastle I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the pork belly in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mic S, General Manager at The Sunnyside Tavern, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for your review, we love knowing that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This tavern's rooms were surprisingly clean, spacious and well kept. The location was ok for us, but not near the City Centre. It is ok for the immediate Broadmeadow area.
A community kitchen for all rooms can be a shambles in the morning with a lot of tennants organising there own brekky.
The hotel is good, but overpriced.

Room Tip: there are rooms with ensuite and some without. If you want ask for ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mic S, General Manager at The Sunnyside Tavern, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Bruce,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Newcastle. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with our rooms starting at $89.
The next time you are staying in Newcastle let us know, we provide a free courtesy bus for our guest to help them get around and into the city centre. We are also looking at including breakfast in the near future as well.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Although the room was clean tidy and bed comfy. When packing in the morning we discovered a cockroach which is gross for u but we had a toddler too which makes it worse.
If you are a big person you would struggle in the bathroom. We had dinner at the restaurant menu looked delish but unfortunately failed greatly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mic S, General Manager at The Sunnyside Tavern, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Hayley,
We are sad to hear that you were disappointed when staying with us, after winning best pub accommodation in NSW we strive to maintain that standard in all areas of the hotel. Our rooms are cleaned daily so am surprised to hear that you found what you found but we have been in contact with our pest maintenance as it is the beginning of that season. If you are travelling through Newcastle again please don't hesitate to contact me direct, Michael, at the pub as I will be sure to look after you during your stay.
Kind Regards
Mic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is an old style hotel with guest rooms that have been renovated to a high standard. Rooms are located on the first floor, while downstairs is the bar and restaurant. No ground floor noise rises upstairs which is great, and the food in the restaurant is excellent value, with a good range of quality gastro pub dishes. Rooms are good value, and free WI-FI is included in the tariff. Onlty a short distance by car to the railway station and shops, this is a good base to explore Newcastle from. The icing on the cake is that the team are nice folk too!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the family rooms (that is what I had). Tonnes of space and room to spread out. I am t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staying at the Sunnyside Tavern was most enjoyable ,the staff was very helpful ,the meals were exellent and the room was very comfortable with a nice little kitchenette,I would recommend this accomodation to any one .We were attending a function at the Entertainment Centre within walking distance and although we walked we were offered a courtesy bus which I thought was very nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The room is very clean and the furniture seems to be very new. I was there on public holiday so i have not seen a single employee from there over the two night stay. We checked in going through the back door which is pass locked so the offers good security as well. The pub below is not opened so cant basically rate on the food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms had obviously been refurbished very recently and therefore all furnishings etc were new. The positives - very clean; lovely linen; excellent quality towels and proper bath sheets. But, the negatives - only one bedside table and lamp in a double room (bizarre); room tiny; no chair to sit on; nowhere to put case; no kettle - had to go to end of corridor to use a kettle, microwave, fridge. These were relatively small things to fix, so all the more disappointing. In addition, when my husband went into the bar to hand in the key, the reception was snappy and unfriendly. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunnyside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Tavern

Address: 20 Broadmeadow Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales NSW 2303, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sunnyside Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunnyside Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.