We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Newcastle Beach to your Saves list
Novotel Newcastle Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 King Street | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aldavilla
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wonderful service once again at the Novotel.Best place to stay in Newcastle!!!!Great food and excellent service from Craig once again in restaurant!!!Perfect location able to walk everywhere along the foreshore. Great property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear AldavillaLinda,
Thank you so much for your kind review, I will let Craig know about your comments it is such a boost for our staff to receive such positive feedback. We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    222
    70
    12
    12
See reviews for
96
224
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent one night at the hotel. It was easy to find, parking was available the staff professional but friendly. The room felt spacious and was very clean. Noise does travel up from the bar/restaurant on street level. I had called several weeks ago to enquire about parking and was told there was onsite parking but not advised there was a fee. On checkout yesterday I was surprised to see a parking fee however there was no issue removing it from the invoice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We decided to go away for a weekend and Newcastle was the furthest we were able to fly to without changing aircraft. The airport is some 30 km outside of town so take a shuttle bus rather than a taxi. It is an interesting hotel - really just a small corner of a large apartment block. The rooms were quite large and the bathroom was huge! We were well looked after and the food was excellent, with great service whenever needed. I can thoroughly recommend their Berkshire Braised Pork Belly.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking for Modern accomodation in Newcastle at an affordable price then this fairly new hotel will do the job. I grew up in Newcastle and remember Newcastle Beach very differently than how it is today but when it comes to staying right on the beach my mind could not think of many modern and fresh options. That is until I found this new offering.

Stayed here on a recent business trip and was lucky enough to secure a Ocean View Room. The view was lovely and made doing my work on the verandah much more relaxing than looking at four walls. There is some construction that may put you off but in my opinion this was no biggy.

The rooms were fresh modern with all the things you need for a few nights. Parking under the hotel is very convenient and the bar is also quite nice for a beverage or two.

This hotel is a good addition to the accomodation available in Newy.
Enjoy your visit to this classic town and back your boardies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Ryan, M
Thank you for your kind review, you are absolutely right in relation to the changes around Newcastle Beach, it is almost unrecognisable from the past. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King Street | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.