We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choosey about where you stay? Choose somewhere else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Newcastle Beach to your Saves list
Novotel Newcastle Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 King Street | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Choosey about where you stay? Choose somewhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the past month for business. Being a regular traveler, my main priorities are cleanliness, parking and hotel services.
For both stays, the Novotel at Newcastle beach has proven to be very well below my expectations.
Last time I stayed, there were suspicious stains on the bed coverlet - lots of them. It was obviously unclean. This time, there is a dreadful sewerage smell in the room. The bathroom drain is chock full of hair and other stuff and the shower drain overflows due to the blockage.
These are very basic areas of cleanliness that should be attended to by the staff of the hotel and overseen by management.
The restaurant food is very average, yet the staff are extremely friendly.
Proximity to the beach is very good, yet there are other hotels locally that are equally as well situated. I will be staying elsewhere next time and will be letting other staff know to avoid the Novotel.

Room Tip: Although advertised as beach view, there are not many that have a view at all. Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Karen C,
Thank you for reviewing Novotel Newcastle Beach. I am very sorry to hear about the aspects of your stay that were not at the standard we would expect. In relation to the drains in the rooms we do have a regular maintenance program to clean each room, however with high occupancies this clearly may need to increase in frequency. I will also speak with our Housekeeping department, from time to time we do get linen back from the laundry that has not been completely cleaned due to stains and these should be returned back to the laundy for re-washing and absolutely not placed on the beds.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about these issues and we are sorry to hear that you will not return, we appreciate your patronage and wish you well.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    201
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
80
195
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for just the one night on business. Near the beach and very well outfitted. Nice little bar downstairs called Bar Petite and Rustica restaurant in the same courtyard area were both good also. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Graeme C
Thank you for your kind review, we are very fortunate with our location not only with the wonderful options for restaurants, bars and cafes but also the beach and shopping in the CBD. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I can't fault the hotel and its services in any way. The room was clean and well maintained, the parking reasonable at $18 per day. I was very impressed with the service levels provided by the staff, especially those on reception. Help with the luggage was provided without being requested, and everyone seemed ready to 'go the extra mile'. We chose to eat breakfast in any of the local cafes because we are light eaters and don't want to pay hotel prices for a buffet breakfast. Location of the hotel is perfect because there are so many places within easy walking distance. All in all, a first class hotel stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Trevorhall
Thank you for your very generous comments regarding Novotel Newcastle Beach, we hope that you will come back again in the near future to enjoy another stay with us.
Kind regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King Street | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.