We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Newcastle Beach to your Saves list
Novotel Newcastle Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 King Street | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The room at I had was very large with a view of the apartments across the road (the old nurses home from the now demolished hospital). The breakfast buffet is very basic and I was not offered any a la carte menu. Parking is $15 per night.

The wifi access charges are nothing short of price gouging. $10 for 2 hours. $25 per day. $60 for 3 days. It should be free like the rest of the world.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    201
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
80
195
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A very good hotel for business visits particularly. Clean, modern & convenient with good sized rooms. Staff not as friendly as they could be (or should be) but overall a good, quiet place to stay. The ubiquitous extra charges such as parking and internet are annoying and over the top.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giralang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I visited Newcastle because of a special family and friends reunion at Hunter Valley. Accommodation at the Novotel Newcastle Beach Apartments seemed to fit the occasion as the apartments are very close to the beach, shops, restaurants, the Newcastle Port and the City itself among other touristy attractions. On our arrival we were welcomed by very friendly and professional staff members. Our apartment was very clean and tidy with very good beds. However, there were three challenging issues which we addressed with the management and got eventually fixed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MrWegner,
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that our staff we able to rectify the issues you experienced to ensure that your stay was a pleasant one. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We weren't staying at the hotel but had a mid-week dinner at the restaurant with another couple. The restaurant has a modern airy feel to it and wan't busy so the service was excellent in every respect. Moreover, we gained the impression from the professionalism of the female waitstaff that their standards would not be compromised even if it was busy. They were courteous, friendly and knowledgeable and no request was too much trouble.

While the menu isn't extensive, there is something there to satisfy just about every taste. Prices are quite reasonable for entrees, mains and desserts although the wine prices were a little steep. There didn't seem to be a listing for non-alcoholic drinks although a simple request brings what you want. They also accept the Accor Advantage + card which reduces the total cost of the meal which is excellent. We would definitely go back and, as it opens at 6.30AM, we might try breakfast next time. All in all an excellent dining experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Stewey52,
Thank you for the review of Bistro Dalby, we really appreciate the kind feedback regarding or staff and the quality of the food experience, we hope that you will be back again soon!
Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Accor chain have been my safe haven around the world but this one just didn't hit all the notes that you would expect from a Novotel, staff are friendly enough, the room was cleanish don't get me wrong it is a nice place just I felt like after checking out I really wouldn't check back in ... I think the rates should reflect the room in this case I was expecting a lot more....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear mrtravelalot267,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and we are sorry that the facilities did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will continue to utilise Accor properties in other locations.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel looks like new and is very clean. Better furnishing than Noahs and my room was much quieter room but did not have any view.

Most important is the location, right in the best part of Newcastle and close to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear S S,
Thank you for your review, we have a wonderful location close to the beach perfect for a summer stay, we appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback.
Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pehaps the problem is me, however, at the tariffs charged I expect more from the room. Eg. A jug for cold water instead of paying $4 a small bottle. (Note: I used a complimentary night or my stay).
The staff are amazing.
The hotel is extremely difficult to get in & out of, even in the quite time of January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Juicercollector,
Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate the positive comments regarding the staff. We are pleased that you were able to stay with us on a complimentary basis, hopefully this was through Accor's fantastic Advantage Plus program.
Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King Street | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.