We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee on Darby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zinc Cafe & Restaurant

Zinc Cafe & Restaurant
135 Darby Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
02 4926 2227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 355 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best coffee on Darby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

the place just has been renovated and looks nice and inviting
I drink coffee there every day in the morning and to 99 percent you get that done to perfection
also love the friendly attending service of the staff and park mostly right in front of it...motorcycle friendly too

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    15
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went here instead of a packed gold bergs. I gotta say it was a wise decision. Beautiful coffee, great food, personal service and it was fast! I won’t be waiting at gold bergs anytime soon again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst food ever !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife ate here the other day , and would have to say its the worst food ever , we where there for breakfast- egg where hard poached , burnt bacon and sausages & packet hoildaise sauce, if the chefs can't make it then maybe you need to look for new chefs, I was going to say something but it was hard even trying to find the waitstaff..... Don't bother going

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“passably average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Zinc is one among a cluster on Darby St, Newcastle, that serves middling food at above-average prices. Trendy in appearance, but the food fails to live up to the menu descriptions

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorites on Darby St”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I've regularly visited Zinc over the past 6 months. Most of the time it's just for coffee and/or a cake but recently I've had breakfast and dinner there.
Dinner I had with a friend. I had the pork belly and she the squid. Both dishes were quite enjoyable.
Breakfast yesterday, I ordered the Moroccan eggs. Omg they were sooo good and so much more than I expected. It was definitely a very filling breakfast packed with beautiful flavours. I just wish that the waiter told me the dish had come out of the oven as I burned one of my fingers but that didn't ruin my breakfast. Chai latte, served in a pot so there was a little more than a cup, was also lovely.
Service is consistently good. Particularly from the two men who appear to be managers of some kind.
Overall always a good experience to be had at Zinc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle West, New South Wales
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Zinc Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zinc Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.