We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot on Darby

The Depot on Darby
143 Darby St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
(02) 4929 2666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 352 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not cheap but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had the "Cubano” sandwich, pulled pork, grilled ham, swiss cheese, mustard, jalapeno chilli, beer battered fries and the Depot vegetable mezze - falafel, olives,hummus, fattoush, flatbread, grilled haloumi, onion and cheese tartlet. All yum when washed down with a couple of beers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    29
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Really great service, food and ambiance! My wife and myself enjoyed the friendly atmosphere within the restaurant. We received amazing service and the food exceeded expectations, not saying our expectations were low... The dish I enjoyed was the prawn and squid spaghetti which was phenomenal!! Fresh, seasoned to perfection and exceptional. Thank you so much guys! Defo coming back in soon :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I put this on the "to do" list after reading such great reviews on trip advisor and it did not disappoint. Lovely staff and the cocktails were just amazing - the Grapefruit & Elderflower martini was amazing! We had tapas to share and for the main we had the pork belly - it was divine. Had to save room for the Banoffee tart which was delicious. It had a romantic atmosphere with the candles in the dark. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“AMAZING! GREAT SERVICE! AWESOME MEAL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Highly recommend! My girlfriends and I started here on our girls night out. Great atmosphere! Dinner was delicious (everyone commented on how nice their meals were) very reasonable prices which is a bonus, service was great! We really enjoyed the range of cocktails. We will definitely be back! Great restaurant all round!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tappas, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was in town on business, found a little place in the city call The Depot on Darby. Food and service outstanding, the girls where fabulous and reasonably priced. I will definately highly reccommend and will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot on Darby also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Depot on Darby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot on Darby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.