We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mocha made with real cocoa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suspension Espresso

Suspension Espresso
3-5 Beaumont Street | Islington, Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 4962 2717
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Newcastle
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mocha made with real cocoa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A local shop owner recommended the coffee here and I'm glad I took her advice. The place was packed and I had to wait about 10 mins for a takeaway coffee, but it was worth the wait. I ordered a mocha (made with drinking chocolate at all the chain stores) but here they use real cocoa, so it was a lovely rich taste. The decor is ..... eclectic. Chairs range from upturned milk crates to wooden benches, with an assortment of solid wooden tables, 1970's kitchen tables and wrought iron patio tables, and the main counter has been fashioned from old lockers. Although I didn't get a chance to eat, the menu looked great with reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Hamilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Fantastic coffee, shouldn't be overlooked because of location

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Coffee with Quirky Touch-Regular on Fridays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My partner is a rgeualr here on Friday's and we loveeeee the coffee and atmosphere. The place is very quirky and we love it. I would love if they did Chai latte's though but the Chai tea is just as good. Not out of a tea bag that's for sure!Menu is short but if they had a kitchen with the same organic quirky style of the coffee this place would be the best! But even as it is this little coffee shop is great just the way it is. Will continue to return for great coffee!Thanks guys:)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

A little disorganised but that's part of the charm. Lovely selection of artwork to look at

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Terrific coffee in a grungy space!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Suspension has the best coffee in Newcastle. Believe me - I have tried the lot - in the City, Cooks Hill, The Junction and Hamilton!

It has become our regular haunt early on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Forget about the breakfast, though. The choices are limited beyond belief. It's all about the coffee!

Our usual brews are a large sized skinny flat white and a soy flat white. The damage was $8.50 until 3 weeks ago, when the cost jumped to $9.50.

We think it might be time to invest in our own coffee machine!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suspension Espresso also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Suspension Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suspension Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.