We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, modern and economical.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   80 Orchardtown Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vincentia, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly, modern and economical.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is one of the best value places I've stayed in. Close to all facilities and shopping, yet self contained with excellent food and service. Being new it is superbly designed for comfort and convenience. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and is the best value in town.

Room Tip: Double glazing and quietness would make any room comfortable. Free Wi-Fi and great design completes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
20
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Best Western Blackbutt in is a modern hotel with good accommodation, friendly staff, and great food, what more could one ask for.
It is located closed to Westfield Kotara for all your shopping needs, of close to John Hunter and the Mater hospitals as well.
We will definitely stay there again if we are going to Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Blackbutt is a great place to stay for a weekend. The hotel itself is wonderful, has great live music on the weekend and the food there is reasonably priced and delicious. The main attraction closest is the Blackbutt Reserve and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Blackbutt Inn is a credit to the Best Western name. It provides clean and comfortable accommodation, with friendly staff.

The location is convenient. It's close to the Lambton Swimming Centre (which even has a giant water-slide for the kids), the John Hunter Hospital, and the Stockland Glendale Shopping Centre.

Complimentary undercover guest parking is provided, in the basement underneath the hotel. There's also plenty of free parking on the street.

The hotel has an adjoining bottle shop - it has keenly priced liquor, which is ideal if you'd like a wine or beer in your hotel room.

The lasting impression we're left with, is the friendliness of the staff. Our daughter sustained a sporting injury during her stay, and Glen, the hotel manager, provided her with a complimentary bag of ice, which he got from the freezer of the adjoining bottle shop - this was a great help to ease the swelling of her injury. We heartily thank Glen and his fellow dedicated staff for their service and friendliness.

We look forward to staying there again, on our next trip to Newcastle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nambucca heads
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This motel is situated on the northern side of Newcastle. We stayed there as part of a tour and were well catered for. Our group of 30 was checked in very efficiently and we were soon in our rooms. Our first meal at the restaurant was ok, but on our return trip the food was much better. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for our tour which was very reasonable.
If you are wanting a quiet stay, check to see if they have a band playing because some of our group found it a bit noisy. I thought it was ok and the rooms were pretty quiet.

Room Tip: Check out if they have a tour booking or event on when you want to book. The restaurant can be book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent Budget priced accomodation nice clean rooms absouloute best part of the stay would be the restaurant both Dinner and breakfast were great .At first we thought this was just pub accomodation but were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We chose this of the net due to location will definetly stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was very happy with the Blackbutt Inn, three nights stay and will be back again. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean as well, meals in the pub below and good. The breakfast was good, value okay. If you did not want a meal from them you could go just next door to a fish n chips shop and small grocery shop to buy other food/drinks. Very friendly staff and good cleaners. You can also use your Flybuys.

Room Tip: All good I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn

Address: 80 Orchardtown Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Blackbutt Inn is a recently renovated property that has all the modern and comfortable requirements expected of today's traveller.The Hotel has an onsite Restaurant open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Lounge and Sports bars, Beer Gargen, Bottle Shop, TAB and Keno facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.